Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-11-2011, 01:36 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 35
Share |
Default

House Dryer 229 Circuit big elec. motor


Can I safely run a 5hp RPC on a household 220v dryer circuit w/ 30 AMP breaker? + It about a 60 foot run.

krrgyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 02:48 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,448
Default

House Dryer 229 Circuit big elec. motor


What is an RPC? What size breaker does the manual say to use?

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 03:01 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 1,990
Default

House Dryer 229 Circuit big elec. motor


RPC: reciprocating particle compactor; something like a flue capacitor with moving parts I think.
bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 03:18 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 35
Default

House Dryer 229 Circuit big elec. motor


I am new here...
My RPC question refers to a Rotary Phase Converter. In my garage sits (lying on the floor) a used Stenhoj car lift...I got it for "free" haha.

To hook it up and operate it I need 3 phase power to run a 3hp 2.2 kw motor. I need to convert 220v AC single phase to 220v 3 phase. Rotarys seem to work well but do I need to run a dedicated circuit. As of now the plan is to power it with a 5hp RPC.

There is no manual ...this thing is 20 years old and "come get it as is...

Thankx

Last edited by krrgyy; 04-11-2011 at 03:33 PM.
krrgyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 05:58 PM   #5
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,542
Default

House Dryer 229 Circuit big elec. motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by krrgyy View Post
Can I safely run a 5hp RPC on a household 220v dryer circuit w/ 30 AMP breaker? + It about a 60 foot run.
That's probably OK. At a typical efficiency of 1000VA/HP, 5HP will require about 21A at 240V. It is possible that the startup current might trip the breaker, but that's unlikely since the momentum of the rotary phase converter helps supply some of the startup energy for the load.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 09:40 PM   #6
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

House Dryer 229 Circuit big elec. motor


Do you have the phase converter yet? If not, if may be cheaper to bu a single phase motor for the lift.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 11:43 PM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

House Dryer 229 Circuit big elec. motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by krrgyy View Post
Can I safely run a 5hp RPC on a household 220v dryer circuit w/ 30 AMP breaker? + It about a 60 foot run.
It might be a doable but I suggest to set up a subpanel in your garage this will work alot better than try to drag the extendison cord each time you have to use the lift.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
Do you have the phase converter yet? If not, if may be cheaper to bu a single phase motor for the lift.
Not always the case depending on the C- face motor and frame size the smaller one it may not be big diffrence on sizewise but once you get over 3 or 5 HP then it will show the diffrence there.

The key item is the frame size between the single phase motour and triphase motour if both are same frame size it possible to swap it over with out major issues.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 08:34 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 35
Default

House Dryer 229 Circuit big elec. motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by 1coollift

[me]...according to Ken ....I can run this 7.5hp RPC on my 30A 220 dryer/garage circuit.....

Amazing

[Rob] "Amazing is right, even without adding a loaded motor a 7.5 hp shouldn't work on 30 amp single phase 240v."
Rob
.................................................. ..............................
This is the same topic on Practical Machinist. What does Rob mean..."shouldn't work"...any help here. Thanks
krrgyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 09:24 PM   #9
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

House Dryer 229 Circuit big elec. motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by krrgyy View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1coollift

[me]...according to Ken ....I can run this 7.5hp RPC on my 30A 220 dryer/garage circuit.....

Amazing

[Rob] "Amazing is right, even without adding a loaded motor a 7.5 hp shouldn't work on 30 amp single phase 240v."
Rob
.................................................. ..............................
This is the same topic on Practical Machinist. What does Rob mean..."shouldn't work"...any help here. Thanks
7.5 HP motour ?? on 30 amp circuit is not a really wise move to use it and one thing I can garnautee you that it will blow the fuse or trip the breaker before you get the motour loaded up.

The 7.5 HP motour typically used on 50 amp circuit to withstand the starting surge and there is few extempts on the OCPD on this one and it will be in Art 430 et 440 they cover it very well.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 01:06 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 35
Default

House Dryer 229 Circuit big elec. motor


Success-
Dedicated 50A panel in garage fed by #6 wire.
Elimia 10hp RPC.
Works like a charm.
Thanks Ken @ Elimia.

krrgyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re-route dryer electric cable Stu27 Electrical 10 09-06-2010 08:21 PM
trying to get educated about house wiring ChrisJJ Electrical 7 08-08-2010 02:23 PM
Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit rlmorgan Electrical 38 10-15-2008 07:59 PM
HELP ! trouble putting belt back on Kenmore elec. dryer ! jays_gyrl1027 Appliances 2 09-17-2008 06:16 PM
dryer & stove sharing circuit? teamSpatula Electrical 9 09-16-2008 02:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.