Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-02-2006, 08:42 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

House Appraiser, Same As Inspector?

hi folks!

im in the midst of purchasing a house, this is my first time buying a house, so all new to me. the LL im currently renting from is being very helpful, and seems to be an honest man with all the dealings ive had with him in the past. the realitor said the house needs to be appraised before the closing, to make sure it is worth at least the asking price or more, more beimg better for me, because it will establish some equity. my question is, what exactly does the apraiser look for while doing his apraisal? obviously the condition of the house, square footage, location, but how about electric, plumbing being up to code? is he also an inspector for that too? i know there are a few electrical violations, that even i noticed, like an outlet near a sink (about 2ft away) that is not a GFCI outlet, and its also a 3 prong outlet without any ground, and there are other 3 prong outlets that are not grounded, and not marked NEG either. any info would be greatly appreciated!

bob

bobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 11:17 AM   #2
C&D

I've been through this several times. Most of an appraiser's work is done at a desk--meaning that the "comps" (prices of recent sales in the area) have more to do with your house value than anything else. Sure they want to come by and make sure that the floors are rotting through to the basement or that there's not a herd of cats urinizing everything, but they're not concerned about "minor" things like not having a GFCI outlet near a sink. Sometimes they'll even ask what value you're looking for and will try to get close to that if it can be justified.
Hope this helps.

C&D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 11:56 AM   #3

c&d,