Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-28-2012, 08:47 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

Hot Tub wiring questions with PICS


Below is my old Spa Electrical/Motherboard center...... It had 240V going in through 4 wires from a 50 amp GFCI box (2 hot black,1 white neutral, 1 green ground) from the main hookup the spa box had a port coming off this that was labeled 120v/240v 1A. My new Spa center does not have this port and I want to add a 120v port to my spa center........ how would I go about hooking up the 120v port wires to the main spa hookup.......... would I put white wire to white wire and black wire to one of the hots then just ground green on the chassis? Also while I'm here what makes this original port rated at 1A is it just due to the thickness of the wire they used on the port head? Thanks for any insight...


Negativecreep0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 10:25 AM   #2
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,980
Default

Hot Tub wiring questions with PICS


The image shows a 240 volt 1A circuit that your calling a port. To do a similar arrangement in your new spa for 120 volts you would connect to the center terminal (neutral) (white) and use either of the two hot terminals. Ground doesn't change. So one hot, one neutral, one ground wire for 120 volts.I suspect there may be a fuse or mini breaker involved in the process. I'd call the manufacturer to make sure this won't be considered a warranty nullifying modification.

What are you wanting to operate as there are many codes involved ?


Last edited by Stubbie; 11-28-2012 at 10:07 PM.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 10:56 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Hot Tub wiring questions with PICS


I wanted to add


http://www.spadepot.com/shop/Spa-Ste...10000C789.aspx


takes a 120v in and converts it to 12vdc to run a marine cd player reciever attatched to hot tub......


...Also the Water Pump Ports on this Spa box are all labeled 120v/240v they all lead to a 3 wire circuit having 1 hot, 1 ground, 1 neutral wire...... My question is how does it know whether a 120v or 240v pump is connected? technicaly i could do a 120v hookup or a single speed 240v pump with the same...... This is what's confusing me. Thanks
Negativecreep0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 01:12 PM   #4
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,539
Default

Hot Tub wiring questions with PICS


It appears to me what you are holding and what you have drawn is NOT hooked up for 120/240V but for 240V only.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 10:12 PM   #5
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,980
Default

Hot Tub wiring questions with PICS


Quote:
Originally Posted by Negativecreep0 View Post
I wanted to add


http://www.spadepot.com/shop/Spa-Ste...10000C789.aspx


takes a 120v in and converts it to 12vdc to run a marine cd player reciever attatched to hot tub......


...Also the Water Pump Ports on this Spa box are all labeled 120v/240v they all lead to a 3 wire circuit having 1 hot, 1 ground, 1 neutral wire...... My question is how does it know whether a 120v or 240v pump is connected? technicaly i could do a 120v hookup or a single speed 240v pump with the same...... This is what's confusing me. Thanks
Not quite correct. You would have 3 wires but for 240 volts you would not use the neutral (white). Just the two hot wires and a ground. If your wire colors are black,white and green you would repurpose the white as a hot wire and identify it with black tape or marker. That's what they did in your photo of the old spa panel. Except they did not identify the white as hot.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 09:56 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Hot Tub wiring questions with PICS


Can you explain how the 3 wire 120/240 spa pump circuit works? If I plug in a 240v single phase one speed pump, one wire would be hot one neutral and one ground...........if I plug in a 120v single phase one speed pump the wires would be the same right? So how does the spa circuitry know what I plugged in? (PS im not talking about what im holding in my hand in the picture anymore I understand that that circuit is wired for 240v only)

Last edited by Negativecreep0; 11-29-2012 at 09:59 AM.
Negativecreep0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 11:24 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 257
Default

Hot Tub wiring questions with PICS


The two incoming Blacks are EACH 120 volt potential with respect to the White Neutral.

Black to Black is at 240 Potential.

Note that the device you want to connect is CONFIGURABLE for either 120 or 240 - so double check how it is set, as it may have been returned at some point. (I know people who have fried PC's !)

Easy Voltage Conversion
120V or 240V Primary
The primary service voltage is easily convertible from 120VAC to 240VAC. Simply remove the access panel to change.


I don't know that it matters which option you choose, just make sure you wire both the same.


Personally I would set the Device for 240, and follow Stubies instructions for wiring and recoding the wire.
tribe_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 11:36 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 257
Default

Hot Tub wiring questions with PICS


Quote:
Originally Posted by Negativecreep0 View Post
Can you explain how the 3 wire 120/240 spa pump circuit works? If I plug in a 240v single phase one speed pump, one wire would be hot one neutral and one ground...........if I plug in a 120v single phase one speed pump the wires would be the same right? So how does the spa circuitry know what I plugged in? (PS im not talking about what im holding in my hand in the picture anymore I understand that that circuit is wired for 240v only)
The Spa doesn't know, you have to know. Replacement motors should be the same as the manufactures specification. I would not attempt to do otherwise.

tribe_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shop wiring questions. Newbomb Electrical 8 05-28-2012 10:25 AM
220 wiring questions Stilz Electrical 8 10-23-2011 11:13 AM
Trane XE 1500 burnt wire and wiring questions parkham HVAC 10 01-25-2010 08:01 PM
Basement Wiring Questions whirly Electrical 8 03-30-2009 12:52 PM
Porch Repair Project (pics) and questions vendejp Carpentry 12 10-05-2007 09:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.