Hot Tub Wiring - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-24-2015, 02:22 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Hot tub wiring


I am moving to a new residence. I want to install my 220v hot tub. I was thinking of using 6/3 Romex NM-B from my service panel, through my garage wall and through my crawl space directly to the hot tub disconnect breaker box. This is about 75ft. Then from the breaker box I am gonna run 6/3 Romex UFB in flex conduit to my hot tub. This run will be about 15ft. I will be securing the wiring in the crawl space to the floor joices using electrical staples. I will also be securing the conduit using strapping. Does anyone have any better ideas.

Advertisement

Timf4223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 02:59 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 5,154
Rewards Points: 3,026
Default

Hot tub wiring


Is the 15 feet of flex outside the building? If so, the UF is not compliant. You need an insulated ground. Run THWN.

Advertisement

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (08-24-2015), Oso954 (08-24-2015)
Old 08-24-2015, 04:01 PM   #3
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 2,602
Rewards Points: 3,086
Default

Hot tub wiring


In California the 15ft would not be allowed. For hot tubs here, you are only allowed 6ft of liquidtite between the wall of the tub and the connection point, in this case, your disconnect/breaker box. Additional footage under the tub is permissible. So I would be running PVC conduit to a point at least near the tub, if not under it, before transitioning to liquidtite.

Your location can impact the response you get, because of local amendments to the codes.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old House Wiring Traycam Electrical 14 01-03-2015 09:31 PM
Attic wiring - ceiling lighting uses 14/2 cable without ground darlingm Electrical 3 11-29-2011 09:01 AM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 06:45 PM
Replacing wiring in middle of run, ungrounded lighting circuit alexz Electrical 3 07-05-2007 08:53 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts