Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-19-2010, 11:27 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Hot Tub Power Requirements?


I hope this doesn't sound like a ridiculous question but here is my situation. I just bought a small hot tub ( 3 person @250 gallon) from a lady who really needed some cash. It had a regular 110 house type plug and seems have no other wiring. Her service at home was 200amp. My service is 100amp. Do you think that I will have enough juice to keep the tub heated and run the jets. I know nothing about hotubs and less about electricity. She is currently searching for the owners manual so until then Ifigured this would be a great place to get some knowledge. Thanks in advance.

brewer362 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brewer362 For This Useful Post:
randized (06-19-2010)
Old 06-19-2010, 12:26 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Hot Tub Power Requirements?


load wise depending on gas or electric appliances your probably not going over max. Touch and go though as it's only 15A maximum. So according to a load calc....you may not be legal. Will it work? of course as long as you aren't running an electric range, dryer, other assorted appliances, and your fridge and freezer all happen to come on at the same time.

a list of what major appliances you have that are electric would help
eg
dryer
stove
water heater
pump(if your in the country)
baseboard heat
so on and so forth.

andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2010, 12:45 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Michigan, Troy
Posts: 25
Default

Hot Tub Power Requirements?


I am sure Andrew knows more about this than I do because hes a licensed electrician but my two cents would be try and find the actual power supply that the cord runs to because it should have a label for the electrical specs on it. Also if the lady can't find the manual obviously you have internet so just do a quick search on the hot tub almost every company has a manual online for there products....
joshvette001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2010, 01:02 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Hot Tub Power Requirements?


pffft just because i have a piece of paper doesn't mean i'm smart , i know wome diyer's that could put a few of the sparky's i've come across to shame. you are absolutely right....there's should be a plate on the motor that has the voltage and the amps...it most likely with will have
"FLA ?A"
other than the motor anything running on it will be negligable unless it's got a crazy stereo and lights built in.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2010, 05:27 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Hot Tub Power Requirements?


The heater would be the other main power draw
Some have a pump, & then an air blower pump, my tub has 3 pumps

But as stated with only 120v the power draw is limited
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2010, 11:04 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Hot Tub Power Requirements?


all 120 volt spas must be plugged into a dedicated 15 amp gfci protected circuit no extension cords used on the circuit. as long as have a space for a 15 amp breaker your goog
randized is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 08:01 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Hot Tub Power Requirements?


Thanks for the replies. I have baseboard heat and a close dryer, and air conditioner. All other items are gas. I haven't had a chance to check the labeling on the unit but I will. Thanks again for all of the replies. This is a great forum!!!
brewer362 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 08:37 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Hot Tub Power Requirements?


Heating 250 gal of water by 50F using 1 kw will take you 30 hours and with heat loss it will take somewhat longer.
This may be OK with you.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 06-20-2010 at 08:39 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 09:27 PM   #9
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,316
Default

Hot Tub Power Requirements?


The heater on the tub is to maintain the heat, not raise the temperature 50 degrees. That is what a water heater does.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 09:42 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Hot Tub Power Requirements?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
The heater on the tub is to maintain the heat, not raise the temperature 50 degrees. That is what a water heater does.
Not with a hot tub
Maybe a bathroom jacuzzi/spa - bathtub with a heater
But a true hot tub will raise the temp from 55 to 104
--it will take a while: 3-5 degrees an hour for my 425+g hot tub
Then it maintains Temp
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 01:30 AM   #11
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Hot Tub Power Requirements?


There are couple codes will come up with hottubs but as you mention 120 volt 15 amp sound like you may have .5 or 1 KW heater and motor but the key item is look at the nameplate some case some small to med hot tubs they can change from 120 to 240 volt set up.{ of course mantory RCD { GFCI } protection }

If can be changeable to 240 volts then I will recomend it due the electric heater otherwise the other good alternate way is use the solar panel as Scuba Dave is working on it now I am not sure which part he will have it posted but with his set up it seems working pretty good once the little bugs kinked out.

Merci,Marc

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I get power to a new ceiling fan? sestivers Electrical 12 04-25-2011 02:11 PM
No Power at Electronic Air Cleaner Junction Box edge10 HVAC 1 09-28-2009 07:26 PM
Wring for Lincoln Power Mig Welder vstoyko Electrical 17 01-15-2009 06:15 PM
Power inverter AndrewL Electrical 6 03-02-2008 01:43 PM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.