Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-02-2011, 04:32 PM   #1
texas7t
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

hot tub hook up 240v


I have a Morgan Spa, looking to hook it up.
240v , 45 Amp,
Im guessing I need to run 4 wires.. 6 gage, 1-nutrial 1-ground 2-hotwires.
I need to run them from the hot tub to a switch panel, then from that to the breaker box. I need to install a 2 pole breaker, 50 amp. .
If I am correct let me know, or If I need to know more information, please inform me. . Thanks again for any help anyone can give me.
Texas7t@aol.com:
added pics.. one pic, came up upside down.. not sure why.. it loaded upright..
Attached Thumbnails
hot tub hook up 240v-hottubboardp.jpg   hot tub hook up 240v-httag.jpg   hot tub hook up 240v-panelht.jpg   hot tub hook up 240v-tag2ht.jpg  


Last edited by Terrylee; 10-03-2011 at 11:37 AM. Reason: add pics
Terrylee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 04:46 PM   #2
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

hot tub hook up 240v


Quote:
Originally Posted by Terrylee View Post
I have a Morgan Spa, looking to hook it up.
240v , 45 Amp,
Im guessing I need to run 4 wires.. 6 gage, 1-nutrial 1-ground 2-hotwires.
I need to run them from the hot tub to a switch panel, then from that to the breaker box. I need to install a 2 pole breaker, 50 amp. .
If I am correct let me know, or If I need to know more information, please inform me. . Thanks again for any help anyone can give me.
Texas7t@aol.com
Need a model and model number to look up specs.

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
Terrylee (10-03-2011)
Old 10-02-2011, 04:52 PM   #3
texas7t
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 2
Default

hot tub hook up 240v


model.. 00m5TRXXQASD OCEANSIDE

SRL. H542242
Terrylee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 12:33 PM   #4
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

hot tub hook up 240v


Sorry, I forgot about this question.

Talk to your inspector with a plan before you buy or do anything. It is really easy to fail one these installs, DIY or pro.

The specs on that call for a 45 amp wire, which is #8 THWN and conduit. You cannot use romex since you need an insulated grounding/green wire.

It looks like it says a 50 amp breaker and the spa will need GFCI protection and disconnect. Something like this is commonly used.

http://products.ebates.com/50_amp_ch...ent=1031860183

Current code requires A Equipotential bonding grid, but since this seems to be a prepackaged unit, there is this. Note this applies to 2011 NEC.

Quote:
680.42(B) Bonding. Bonding by metal-to-metal mounting on a common frame or base shall be permitted.

Exception No. 2: A listed self-contained spa or hot tub that meets all of the following conditions shall not be required to have
equipotential bonding of perimeter surfaces installed as required in 680.26(B)(2):
(1) Is installed in accordance with manufacturer’s instructions on or above grade.
(2) The vertical measurement from all permanent perimeter surfaces within 30 horizontal inches (76 cm) of the spa to the top
rim of the spa is greater than 28 inches (71 cm).
http://www.nfpa.org/Assets/files/Abo...TIA70-11-1.pdf

Ask the inspector and see what he/she says.

There is a water bond involved, but hopefully the unit should have it built in. Look at the manual or call the place where it was purchased.

All I can think of at the moment.

Again, talk to inspector first!!!!
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
240v questions.... ITSANSS Electrical 16 05-11-2011 05:40 PM
Halide High Bay Wiring 240v MarsHangar Electrical 1 08-11-2010 11:06 AM
Do you think a tool running at 240v works better than at 120v? Piedmont Electrical 39 07-03-2009 09:50 PM
Proper way to hook up 240v outlet to sub panel? Plumbvoltage Electrical 2 01-13-2009 12:58 PM
240v sub panel hook up with no neutral ut74 Electrical 7 03-07-2008 07:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.