Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-15-2010, 05:56 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 16
Share |
Default

hot tub


need to know how hard is it to wire a hot tub.I have a spa 50amp breker and know that I need #6 wire.

dodge1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 06:07 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

hot tub


Quote:
Originally Posted by dodge1972 View Post
need to know how hard is it to wire a hot tub.
For me it's usually pretty easy.

Maybe you can try to ask this question again with a bit of detail.

Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 06:45 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

hot tub


There are very specific rules for installing a hot tub
Section 680 in NEC code book I think

Do you have a specific question ?
Depending upon the installation you may need a bonding grid around the hot tub
Tub must be GFCI protected
Ground must be insulated
#6 wire must be correct color, can't be remarked
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 08:07 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 16
Default

hot tub


Have a 50 amp breaker with gfci and a 50 amp double pole breaker for panel.was wondering if it is hard to wire the tub or is there anything else I need besides the #6 wire to do the job.thanks
dodge1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 08:54 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

hot tub


Quote:
Originally Posted by dodge1972 View Post
.... or is there anything else I need besides the #6 wire to do the job.
Yes, there is a lot more needed.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 09:46 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

hot tub


I done few of hot tub hook up however let me address couple things along the way.

• mantory RCD { GFCI }

• No bare grounding conductor in the conduit in outdoor locations at all.

now next step is the location of subpanel or disconnect switch most useally are 5 feet away but no more than 10 feet away but let me warn ya check with your local codes it may spell diffrent than what myself and other posted the info here.

Is this spa will be on the ground or on the deck { this part if on the deck you will have to check the stucture to see if they can hold addtional weight typically most spa I know they hold about 750 liter { apx 200 gallons } and can weight up more than 2,000 lbs { water weight in 8.0 lbs per gallon }

Also if you have any overhead conductors or cable there is spefic rules dealt with that.

just ask us more question we will be more than happy to answer the question.

More the details you provide us the better the answer we can able give to you.

Merci,Marc

{ above items are in North America side the French codes is little more tighter than this }

Last edited by frenchelectrican; 04-15-2010 at 09:48 PM.
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 09:56 PM   #7
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,542
Default

hot tub


Quote:
Originally Posted by dodge1972 View Post
Have a 50 amp breaker with gfci and a 50 amp double pole breaker for panel.was wondering if it is hard to wire the tub or is there anything else I need besides the #6 wire to do the job.thanks
So you have a 50A breaker for the main panel, 6/3 wire (red/blk/wht/bare) for the run from the panel to the hot tub, and you have a 50A GFCI breaker for the tub disconnect/GFCI protection. Is that GFCI breaker a complete hot tub "kit" in its own disconnect enclosure, or is it just a bare breaker? Obviously you need the enclosure for it. Aside from general hardware like wire staples and strain reliefs, that should do it.

It sounds like you already sort of know how to do this, since you bought the right parts. The 50A breaker goes in your main panel. The 6/3 wire must be routed according to code (strain relief at the panel and disconnect, secured properly, protected from damage, etc.). Mount your GFCI disconnect enclosure near the tub (see NEC rules on location) and run the wire into the back of it. If the hot tub has a "whip" for power already, run it to the disconnect enclosure using appropriate hardware (lock nut or strain relief, as required). If it does not have a whip, you will need to make one - use 3/4" or 1" nonmetallic flex and individual stranded #6 THHN/THWN conductors.

The red and black wires in the 6/3 from the main panel connect to the "line" side of the GFCI breaker. The white wire connects to the neutral bar in the disconnect enclosure. The neutral bar must be separate and isolated from the ground bar. The hot tub's red and black connect to the "load" side of the GFCI breaker. The GFCI breaker's neutral wire must go to the neutral bar, and the hot tub's neutral (if it has one) must connect to the GFCI breaker's neutral terminal. If it does not require a neutral, ignore it. All of the grounds connect to the ground bar in the enclosure. That's it.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 12:07 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

hot tub


If I were doing this job, I would use the 50 amp two pole breaker to feed this.
Attached Images
 
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 09:19 PM   #9
Member
 
Knucklez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 857
Default

hot tub


NEC Section 680.26 for required Bonding grid around the pool/spa

can anyone discuss this in more detail?

Knucklez

__________________
"if you can't be handsome, at least you can be handy" -Redgreen
Knucklez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.