Hot Tub - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-29-2009, 10:32 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Hot Tub


Have a Master Spa hot tub that suddenly stopped working. Getting power (220) to junction box at tub but that's it. Nothing on the tub works. I have replaced two 25 amp fuses but that didn't help. Any suggestions? Thanks.

Advertisement

doyce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 11:21 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Hot Tub


What I would do is get a wiring diagram (schematic diagram) for the hot tub and test various points with a multimeter. But then I know electronics, understand what all the various components are for, how they *should* work, know how to read electrical diagrams, and I understand how to safely test these things.*

If you don't understand electronics, then there would be no point in testing anything since you would not know what various parts should be doing. In that case, call a repairman.

*I would estimate it would take at least two years of learning to fully understand something like a hot tub control panel. Sort of like a dentist fixing a cavity in a tooth. Looks easy, but takes years of learning!

Advertisement

Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2009, 01:41 AM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Hot Tub


Did you check the GFCI device ?

If not then a good chance you should check it out it can be on the wall near the spa tub or inside of the unit.

This part I will suggest try that first and check any connection along the way if it is loose or not.

Once you verify the GFCI is working then you will have to do little more troubleshooting.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2009, 09:11 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Hot Tub


Thanks for the replies. Not the gfci, it's working properly. I think it might be one of three other fuses that I overlooked before. One was pretty well hidden. If that's not the problem will have to call repairman.
doyce is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts