Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-28-2012, 03:50 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Hot Tub 240volt wiring


I am installing a new jaccuzzi spa that requires a 240 volt 50 amp breaker. My question is about the wiring. My total run is 150 feet. what size wire do I use?

MarkMaurer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 06:00 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,346
Default

Hot Tub 240volt wiring


I think #6 would be fine. What is the actual load of the spa unit including any heaters?

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
MarkMaurer (10-28-2012)
Old 10-28-2012, 06:50 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Hot Tub 240volt wiring


Don't know until the spa is delivered. MFR. recommended the 50 amp breaker though. I've run 1 inch conduit, should be good. Just wondered if maybe I needed to run #4 half way to a junction box and then the rest #6.
MarkMaurer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 08:37 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,335
Default

Hot Tub 240volt wiring


As Stickboy stated in the other thread you started on this topic...there are many codes that affect hot tub wiring.

Convenience Receptacle
GFI Protection
Disconnect
Equipotential grid

Just to name a few
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 10:24 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,346
Default

Hot Tub 240volt wiring


#6 is good for 60 amps. Since they recommend a 50 amp breaker the spa probably uses less than 40. That should be fine on #6 for the distance you specified.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
MarkMaurer (10-28-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attic wiring - ceiling lighting uses 14/2 cable without ground darlingm Electrical 3 11-29-2011 09:01 AM
Backyard wiring questions MikeInDetroit Electrical 1 11-02-2011 09:46 AM
Landscape wiring question: GFCI and Breaker Amp MikeInDetroit Electrical 0 11-02-2011 09:43 AM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 06:45 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.