Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-30-2012, 11:06 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Exclamation

hot tub


I am looking to hook up a hot tub sitting on my property safely. It is a 220v and I was wdering if you can hook it up to a 120 system in any way? If not how do I get power to it?

rockerwannabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 11:50 PM   #2
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,042
Rewards Points: 2,054
Default

hot tub


Quote:
Originally Posted by rockerwannabe View Post
I am looking to hook up a hot tub sitting on my property safely. It is a 220v and I was wdering if you can hook it up to a 120 system in any way? If not how do I get power to it?
Only way to hook it up safely would be with an experienced electrician. It is true this is a diy site but your questions and lack of detail about the tubs specifications and your experience lends me to defer you to a professional.


Last edited by Stubbie; 07-30-2012 at 11:52 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 04:27 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

hot tub


Lol, granted I did not give much info on the tub but that is because I know nothing about it. It is a hunk that has been sitting on my property for years and I just now fixed it up. I am not a novice to electrical work, I have dealt with 120v my whole life the only issue, I have is that I have dealt with 220v and I had a basic question that I layed out sorry I was not more specific. The only things I can tell you really is that it is 220v and there is only three leads which is what made me think it was odd because I have a friend that told me there should be four....
rockerwannabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 05:58 AM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

hot tub


Quote:
Originally Posted by rockerwannabe View Post
Lol, granted I did not give much info on the tub but that is because I know nothing about it. It is a hunk that has been sitting on my property for years and I just now fixed it up. I am not a novice to electrical work, I have dealt with 120v my whole life the only issue, I have is that I have dealt with 220v and I had a basic question that I layed out sorry I was not more specific. The only things I can tell you really is that it is 220v and there is only three leads which is what made me think it was odd because I have a friend that told me there should be four....
whats the voltage on the nameplate say? How can anyone say anything without looking at that first?
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 06:02 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,248
Rewards Points: 510
Default

hot tub


If this is a 220 volt hot tub, You will need to run a 220/240 volt line out to the site. This will need to be GFCI protected with proper disconnect switches etc. You will also need to set up a correct bonding system around the hot tub. I would suggest you start with NEC 680.4 and read from there what the requirements are for installing a hot tub.

As for the original question, no, you can not hook this up to 120 unless the equipment is rated for it. Please provide us with more info on the pump motor, heater and electrical requirements of this unit.

Last edited by danpik; 07-31-2012 at 01:39 PM.
danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 10:54 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

hot tub


Anyone that has dealt with 120 his whole life, knows more about 240 than 120.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 11:31 AM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

hot tub


Quote:
Originally Posted by rockerwannabe View Post
Lol, granted I did not give much info on the tub but that is because I know nothing about it. It is a hunk that has been sitting on my property for years and I just now fixed it up. I am not a novice to electrical work, I have dealt with 120v my whole life the only issue, I have is that I have dealt with 220v and I had a basic question that I layed out sorry I was not more specific. The only things I can tell you really is that it is 220v and there is only three leads which is what made me think it was odd because I have a friend that told me there should be four....
Just reading this suggests it would be WELL within your best interest to hire an electrician to do this job.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (07-31-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.