Hot Ground - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-30-2011, 05:10 PM   #1
Next Time...New Build
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Hot Ground


Hey guys.

I added a leg off of an existing outlet and every time I flip the breaker back on it trips. I disconnected the ground at my recepticle, reset the breaker and it works. However, if I put my meter on both grounds they read 120....??? WTF???

The recepticle worked fine prior to this and everything is connected properly. I know I probably have to trace to the source of the power but I don't really know what I am looking for in doing so. Would someone have hooked up hot/neutral to one of the ground wires?

As of now the breaker is off until I can get an answer.

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

Advertisement

RickyBobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 06:01 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Hot Ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by RickyBobby View Post

The recepticle worked fine prior to this and everything is connected properly.
Obviously not. You need to find out what you did wrong.

How was the old receptacle wired?
How did you wire the new one?
I assume they were both exactly the same?

Advertisement

Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 06:47 PM   #3
Next Time...New Build
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Hot Ground


Got me there Petey!

The new line off of the recepticle goes to a light on a switch. The blacks on the switch and the neutrals together. The grounds pigtailed to the switch and also on the recepticle.

There is no ground on the new light (single bulb ceramic ones) so basically the ground is tucked into the plastic ceiling box.

The only thing I can think of is if the ground in the ceiling box is touching the hot terminal.

I guess I am looking to see what would cause me to get a 120 reading when touching the 2 grounds?

I am also concerned with no ground on the ceiling light.

Most likely being a call to electrician on Monday but any help in advance is great.
RickyBobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 08:15 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Hot Ground


Does the new line go to the light or does the new line go to the switch?

Thbe porcelain light fixture will work perfectly well without the ground wire but the ground wires entering the box should all be connected to each other.

A wire nut is needed to hold a bundle of ground wires together. Just twisting and/or taping is not good enough.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 07-30-2011 at 08:19 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 08:49 PM   #5
Next Time...New Build
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Hot Ground


[quote=AllanJ;697024]Does the new line go to the light or does the new line go to the switch?

quote]

The new line goes to the switch and then the light. Can the ground at the light just be tucked inside?

Thanks for the response. Regarding the ground being hot, is the only way it can happen is be touching a hot line somewhere?
RickyBobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 12:02 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,344
Rewards Points: 3,482
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Hot Ground


How tight did you make the box clamps? I have seen them tightened enough to cause a short.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 04:05 PM   #7
Next Time...New Build
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Hot Ground


I actually found it. The ground on my switch contacted the hot terminal on the switch when I pushed it into the box. I went back through all of my connections this morning and found that.

Thanks all for the input.

Advertisement

RickyBobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To ground or not to ground Red Squirrel Electrical 2 10-14-2010 09:42 PM
Wiring an outlet using both ground screws instead of pig-tailing together. cabber24 Electrical 5 08-26-2010 09:40 AM
Electrical Ground Problem cabinetman Electrical 15 01-28-2010 05:55 PM
Live ground wire in dryer Retired sailor Electrical 10 05-04-2009 04:26 PM
Hot Tub Install--Grounding Rod Question statgeek_rob Electrical 16 09-15-2007 03:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts