DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

HOT breakers, need advice....

4K views 13 replies 6 participants last post by  Patriot_RAM 
#1 ·
I live in a 2001 model Fleetwood manufactured home. In the past year, I've burned up at least three breakers. Two of them were "double piggyback" style with double 220 circuits. They were 40/30 amp sets which are for the range and dryer respectively. The other one is a piggyback 20amp circuit which runs various recepticles throughout the house.

These Siemens breakers have been burning up where they make contact with the buss bar. I'm no electrician, but I would think if they pulled *that* much current that the breaker would trip. So, I pulled out my trusty meter and did some testing. I turned everything on the stove on and it was pulling 46 amps for over 5 minutes. Correct me if I'm wrong, but shouldn't 46 amps trip a 40 amp breaker? The dryer is pulling 24 amps which is obviously less than the 30 that the breaker is rated at.

Does anybody have any suggestions for me? We won't be living in this home much longer, but either way I don't feel like its safe. I don't want to read about the people that move in to my home in the paper after I sell the house.

Suggestions? please? (other than hiring an electrician)

Thanks in advance,

David

See less See more
#4 ·
crecore said:
sounds like the wiring must be undersized to pull that kind of current.
The size of the circuit wires is of concern here, but could not drasticly affect the total current draw on the circuit.

What it sounds like is that there was originally one bad breaker. Hey it happens even to the best mfgs. The heating of the original damaged breaker heated the buss bar causing damage that can not easily be seen.

More breakers will keep failing and you are throwing good money after bad. You need to replace not only the bad breakers, but the panel guts as well.

As said above, this is not a diy job. you will need to hire it done.

#5 ·