Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-11-2008, 05:10 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Alexandria VA
Posts: 30
Share |
Default

hot 3way dimmer


Hi again!

Why is the new Lutron dimmer I installed in a new 15 amp lighting circuit of 9 cans getting so hot (temperature), where the fixture is controlled by two switches (one is the dimmer) and the power goes through the light. By the way, there is a slight hum when dimmed and all 9 cans have 60 watt halogen spots in them.

I admit that I wired the switches incorrectly at first. I understand how the current runs for 3 way, but not which terminal is which on the switch.

Thanks!

Rob

moondog111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 05:34 PM   #2
Whatamess
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 423
Default

hot 3way dimmer


Thats 540 watts is it rated for that?

__________________
I may go home hungry, but not tired and hungry.
TazinCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 06:55 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Alexandria VA
Posts: 30
Default

hot 3way dimmer


Thanks Tazin.

It says on the dimmer 600 watts max... and then it says 500 one side removed, 400 two sides removed.... what does that mean?

Appreciate it.

Rob
moondog111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 07:02 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

hot 3way dimmer


Dimmers get hot. It's part of the deal. Yours is loaded.


When you put more than one dimmer in a box, next to each other, you have to remove a small strip of the metal. This reduces the ability of the dimmer to disapate heat so the rating is lower.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 07:31 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Alexandria VA
Posts: 30
Default

hot 3way dimmer


Thanks! Makes perfect sense! I see on-line for somewhere North of $30 I can get a 1000 watt dimmer...I think I better do that.
moondog111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 07:34 PM   #6
sweaty
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vienna, VA
Posts: 297
Default

hot 3way dimmer


Get dimmable CFL's. You'll save a lot of money in the long run and not overload your dimmer.
sweaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 08:17 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

hot 3way dimmer


Every "dimmable" CFL I've seen sucked. The don't dim down enough.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 06:04 AM   #8
sweaty
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vienna, VA
Posts: 297
Default

hot 3way dimmer


In my house, I have dimmers in most rooms (from the previous owner) and I only use them in the bedrooms to check on the kids at night. So I use CFL's in the other rooms where we spend more time and don't dim the lights much.

sweaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bathroom electronic dimmer gets reset by exhaust fan switch? BinaryJay Electrical 3 07-16-2008 10:57 PM
Installing Dimmer for fireplace blower MountainMan HVAC 4 07-02-2008 11:09 PM
dimmer switch circuit wiring stan_d_bballman Electrical 2 11-16-2007 11:44 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM
When Bulb blows, Dimmer Switch Blows mAv19 Electrical 2 05-26-2006 03:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.