Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-02-2012, 01:28 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 46
Share |
Default

Horse Barn Wiring - Pole Barn


Hello...wiring horse barn from 200 amp service panel.

BARN:
36' x 60'
7 stalls (12' x 12')
Heated Tack Room (12' x 24')
Storage Room/Stairs (12' x 12')
Hay Loft over main aisle (18' x 60")

My question is what is the best way to run the main runs of conduit and the drops to receptacles/lights?
--- plan on using 3/4" conduit for mains and 1/2" for drops.
Should I run the mains up to the loft, across the rafters on each side of the barn and then run along the sides of the floor joists or drop down into wall cavities to get to where I need to drop down for receptacles/lights? (If I run across the rafters, I can run on the 1x side rather than drill through anything, correct?)
---OR should I run through the floor joists (drill holes) to where I need to go for receptacles/lights --- I'd like to limit the drilling though.
---Any other ideas on a plan for running conduit?

--Also, as I run down into walls that will be enclosed with SYP (e.g. tack room), I've been told that it's a good idea to keep the wire inside conduit even though you are running wire INSIDE a wall that will be enclosed--to protect against any possibility of a rodent getting at the wires---especially in a horse barn to limit any disasters...conduit inside walls - do you agree for safety????
----If i do run conduit inside enclosed walls, how do I connect to each electrical box? --- through the back? -- how will the conduit go into the box if not going through the top of the box with a lock nut?

Thanks in advance for advice!
hagler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 01:35 PM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Horse Barn Wiring - Pole Barn


I think you should call the city elec. insp. and ask a few questions. All the horse barns around here I've been in seem to have all the conduit on the outsides of the stalls and up in the air. The wiring inside the walls would be more readily accessible to rodent damage since they can gnaw with impunity, whereas if it's "out in the room", they tend to avoid them. The new NEC has numerous new codes for outbuildings, so be careful, and good luck!

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 02:53 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Horse Barn Wiring - Pole Barn


Also here they don't tax pole barns but once you run power to it that changes.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 02:56 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 46
Default

Horse Barn Wiring - Pole Barn


Called inspector. He said conduit inside walls is ok and does protect against rodents. I do need sch 80 conduit above grade. For # of conductors in 3/4 conduit and other specs he said to look at nec article 547 Does anyone know where I can look at that? Links in a post today did not work. Where can I get a copy of article 547?
Thanks again
hagler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 03:24 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Horse Barn Wiring - Pole Barn


Quote:
Originally Posted by hagler View Post
Called inspector. He said conduit inside walls is ok and does protect against rodents. I do need sch 80 conduit above grade. For # of conductors in 3/4 conduit and other specs he said to look at nec article 547 Does anyone know where I can look at that? Links in a post today did not work. Where can I get a copy of article 547?
Thanks again

Here is a page that was refereed to me once lots of great info.

http://www.jhlarson.com/ind_tables/ind_table.htm
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 10:23 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Horse Barn Wiring - Pole Barn


The other thing with horse barns there is a addtional codes it may come up in your state as well.

For the luminaire choice .,, all the luminarie have to enclosed no open bulbs luminaire at all.

My perfered choice is this ( photo showen below )



That luminarie above the most common bulb I use is F32T8 they are pretty bright and they last long time ( much better than CFL are )

And pay attetion to where put the luminaire at due the horse can wreck it so just be aware where you install it.

For the receptale location just find it where the horse will not hit them ( I useally mount them up pretty high or find a loctation where the horse will not hit it < I have see few cows do some damage as well > )

As far for the conduit fill you will have to use the chart to see how many conductors you can able to use in the conduit but normally I don't useally go over 6 CCC so that way I leave some room to add in future.


Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a room in a pole barn BHargrave Remodeling 4 02-29-2012 10:33 PM
Pole barn footing question Badfish740 Building & Construction 12 08-21-2011 09:06 AM
Pole Barn framing... 4020power Building & Construction 12 01-27-2011 06:23 PM
Pole Barn Posts moose122 Building & Construction 3 07-11-2009 06:39 PM
Wiring a Pole Barn rocky Electrical 8 02-02-2006 06:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.