Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-09-2008, 11:54 AM   #1
Newbie
 
twilightflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: yorkshire UK
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

honeywell T6360 thermastat


Hi guys,my lad has bought this old house and one of the faults is that the heating system dosen't switch off, I suspect the stat.....what should I check for on the stat? any help please would be great.
Ray

twilightflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 12:13 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 272
Rewards Points: 250
Default

honeywell T6360 thermastat


Please add your location to your profile, it helps understand where you live...

You mention the "heating system" won't shut off. Exactly what is being controlled by this thermostat? This model is a "line voltage" thermostat. It is used to directly control a line voltage heater such as an electric baseboard. Therefore, these answers assume it is connected to an electric baseboard:

Here is one troubleshooting check from Honeywell, relating to the relay contacts becoming welded together.

Do you have the T6360A, B, or C? I will post the wiring diagram for you.




Here are other possible reasons it won't shut off:
  • wired incorrectly. Verify that the incoming power is connected to the right terminals. I will post diagram after you specify if you have A,B, orC.
  • current in excess of the tstat rating that damaged the tstat. This is rated at 10A, so at 230V that gives you 2300 watts of power. Make sure the heater(s) are not greater than 2300 watts total.
  • original miswiring of the circuit, such as running the circuit incorrectly in that the tstat isn't really in the loop

__________________
Willis
williswires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 01:35 PM   #3
Newbie
 
twilightflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: yorkshire UK
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

honeywell T6360 thermastat


Hi Willis, thanks for your reply, the model is an 'A' and I will try and find what is suggested and hope to post reply soon.cheers
Ray
twilightflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 02:29 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 272
Rewards Points: 250
Default

honeywell T6360 thermastat


I am not at all familiar with european electrical devices or practices, so please understand my comments are/were based on USA materials and methods.

I see that this tstat is used in other applications as mentioned in the instructions:

The T4360/T6360 range of thermostats
are designed to provide automatic
ON/OFF control for gas valves,
circulation pumps, relays and zone
valves in all heating, cooling, or
heating/cooling installations where
single or changeover switching up to
10 A (resistive load) or 3 A (inductive
load) is required.

Maybe someone else can help you with this.

Here is the wiring diagram from the T6360A in the UK (from Honeywell).



__________________
Willis
williswires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 09:26 AM   #5
Newbie
 
twilightflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: yorkshire UK
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

honeywell T6360 thermastat


Quote:
Originally Posted by williswires View Post
I am not at all familiar with european electrical devices or practices, so please understand my comments are/were based on USA materials and methods.

I see that this tstat is used in other applications as mentioned in the instructions:

The T4360/T6360 range of thermostats
are designed to provide automatic
ON/OFF control for gas valves,
circulation pumps, relays and zone
valves in all heating, cooling, or
heating/cooling installations where
single or changeover switching up to
10 A (resistive load) or 3 A (inductive
load) is required.

Maybe someone else can help you with this.

Here is the wiring diagram from the T6360A in the UK (from Honeywell).




won't be able to lokk at the t stat till Sat morn, I'll apply your answer to the prob and see what comes up, many thanks willis.
ray
twilightflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honeywell Thermostat Wiring Differences DavidHwang HVAC 16 01-28-2012 03:11 PM
new honeywell rth6300b to replace very old honeywell thermostat Designman20 HVAC 2 05-06-2009 05:43 AM
Honeywell VisionPro 8000 Temperature Variation hottoddy HVAC 3 01-01-2008 02:33 PM
Changing from one Honeywell to another... LeroyFrick HVAC 1 11-03-2007 12:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.