Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-11-2008, 01:02 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 18
Share |
Default

Home theater system set up


hey guys im building a home theater system and i have already prepped up my wiring by routing my caox cable and speaker cables through the walls and attic. so far this is my setup:

Symphonic 19" televison
Sanyo component system - going to get a Logitech THX Certified surround 5.1 sound speakers maybe a z-5500, most likely a x-540
Sony DVD Player
Going to hook up my quad core computer that i built

i also want to get a better outlet dude to alot of components being plugged into one. so how many amp ratings do you recomend that i should buy, and if there is any suggestions on what i could get to make my theater better reply, remmeber im only 13 years old and my room is 12' by 11'. i am not building a high end home theater system. here is some pics;

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/f...u/KIF_2233.jpg

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/f...u/KIF_2232.jpg

cannouu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 04:34 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 54
Default

Home theater system set up


Dude:

See what happens to your credibility when you type something we all understand. Great job on the typing.

But lay off on the "13 year old" reference ...We get it already.

Now wait for serious answers to your now legible questions.

NAIL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 05:29 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,779
Default

Home theater system set up


Now it's time to get serious.

DO NOT, repeat, DO NOT do ANY electrical work in your house or anywhere else, unless under the direct supervision of a qualified electrician or teacher. By this I don't mean one of your parents watching. I mean someone qualified to do/teach electrical work.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 01:02 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 18
Default

Home theater system set up


my dad is an electrical engineer who fixed 2 and 3 phase electrical circuits and has taught me alot over the years
cannouu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 01:19 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,136
Default

Home theater system set up


Quote:
Originally Posted by cannouu View Post
electrical engineer who fixed 2 and 3 phase electrical circuits
He may be an electrical engineer but that does not make him an electrican. Most engineers would be lost on the job site, they have no clue how stuff works in the real world they deal in a 2 dimension world with there prints on a desk while sitting in a nice coushy chair in a warm office with flushing toliets.

Just like if you asked an electrican to do an engineer job, they would be lost.

On a side note there is a forum for home theater stuff on this site, you would be better posting this type of stuff there.

Two things about your pics, the first one looks very DIY, i would have used two or three plates and used jacks for there were no wires sticking out the walls.

Also those pictures are 5 yrs old, did you do all that when you were only 8 yrs old.

Last edited by darren; 04-11-2008 at 01:22 PM.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 02:20 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 18
Default

Home theater system set up


i didn't set the clock right, my bad
cannouu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 02:55 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,136
Default

Home theater system set up


Quote:
Originally Posted by cannouu View Post
i didn't set the clock right, my bad
and you feel qualifed to do electrical in your house
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 03:06 PM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Default

Home theater system set up


Quote:
Originally Posted by cannouu View Post
i also want to get a better outlet dude to alot of components being plugged into one. so how many amp ratings do you recomend that i should buy
Nice job. And nice job on your typing and English too. Look for a multi outlet strip with built in 15 amp over current protection and surge suppression. That should handle your set up. What size circuit feeds your room receptacle outlet and what else is on that circuit? Is it a grounded circuit? Don't fool with the electrical system in your house. Only trained and qualified people should do electrical work. Just like only trained and qualified people should do engineering work.
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 03:24 PM   #9
Advice worth 2 cents!
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 229
Default

Home theater system set up


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
He may be an electrical engineer but that does not make him an electrican. Most engineers would be lost on the job site, they have no clue how stuff works in the real world they deal in a 2 dimension world with there prints on a desk while sitting in a nice coushy chair in a warm office with flushing toliets.

Just like if you asked an electrican to do an engineer job, they would be lost.

On a side note there is a forum for home theater stuff on this site, you would be better posting this type of stuff there.

Two things about your pics, the first one looks very DIY, i would have used two or three plates and used jacks for there were no wires sticking out the walls.

Also those pictures are 5 yrs old, did you do all that when you were only 8 yrs old.
Darren...how dare you tell stuff like that to this boy about his dad! I'm a licensed master electrician who's heard more than enough talk about engineers but...That's job-site talk and not the kind of bull************ that should be told to a father's son. (sorry to be harsh)

Cannouu....check stuff out with your dad and you'll be fine!

- pete
__________________
---pete
HandyPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 05:34 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 18
Default

Home theater system set up


thanks, but im lookin for an outlet that has a circuit breaker or surge protecter built in
cannouu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 06:43 PM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,779
Default

Home theater system set up


Quote:
Originally Posted by cannouu View Post
thanks, but im lookin for an outlet that has a circuit breaker or surge protecter built in
http://www.smarthome.com/865130.html

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 07:39 AM   #12
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 749
Default

Home theater system set up


Quote:
Originally Posted by cannouu View Post
thanks, but im lookin for an outlet that has a circuit breaker or surge protecter built in
I'm completing a bedroom to family room conversion featuring a full HT setup w/ a wall-mounted 50" plasma. Obviously, I needed something to provide power on the wall behind the set and I wanted some protection as well. A friend of mine does professional HT installations and recommended Panamax products as they are considered some of the best line conditioning/surge/lightning protection products available. The following is what I installed:

http://www.panamax.com/Products/In-W...POWER-PRO.aspx


It's a bit pricey but provided that it is installed properly, they offer a very good protection program that they actually stand behind.

One word of caution from my experience (and this is not noted anywhere in the instructions or on their website): The electronics are enclosed in a metal can behind the unit. The captive screws make the rear assembly just a hair wider than a 2-gang plaster ring. In my case, I had to file a few grooves in the lip of the mud ring to install.

Good luck,
Jimmy

__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bose3-2-1 Home Theater System? almostdone Home Theater 16 03-30-2008 10:57 PM
Home Theater Set Up Help JAVAMAN Home Theater 3 03-12-2008 07:07 PM
wiring my home theater system, help!!!! reds_21 Home Theater 12 12-31-2007 12:23 PM
New To Hot Water Home Heating System Midicat HVAC 2 10-14-2007 08:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.