Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-10-2013, 06:22 PM   #16
Member
 
beginner50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 98
Share |
Default

Home generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by Toller

Its jusr a Generac. They are sold all over. The 8kw uses less then a gallon an hour so a full tank should last you a while. You can save $1,500 installing it yourself. If its in your budget it is the best solution.
Installing the generator myself?? I wouldn't have the first clue on doing that??

beginner50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 09:42 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 488
Default

Home generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by beginner50 View Post
Installing the generator myself?? I wouldn't have the first clue on doing that??
I didn't install mine either, though I have done a tranfer switch before. I was just offering it as an option.
If you go to the generac site you will find local installers. Around here I know Lowes does, though I found someone else for 10% less.
Toller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 09:54 PM   #18
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Home generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by Toller View Post
I didn't install mine either, though I have done a tranfer switch before. I was just offering it as an option.
If you go to the generac site you will find local installers. Around here I know Lowes does, though I found someone else for 10% less.
If you going to hire anyone do the installation of the generator / transfer switch make sure they are licensed to work on that and I know some generatour manufacters will have listing of qualifed peoples which they will allowed them to do the hook up. ( some case if you used factory trained teches / installer they can able honour the warantty better in some way.)

And check on the installer get the proper permits if you do not see any permits stop them and tell them make sure they have proper permits before you start that is one of few major thing you will have to watchout on that part and they will understand the electrical code for that area and gaz codes as well.



Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 10:00 PM   #19
Member
 
beginner50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 98
Default

Home generator


Well I do plan on hiring a professional, I will more than likely get references and shop around for a good electrician!! Do I need a concrete pad to place it on and will they put it by my house under the breaker box?? If I move can I take it with me?
beginner50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 10:11 PM   #20
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Home generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by beginner50 View Post
Well I do plan on hiring a professional, I will more than likely get references and shop around for a good electrician!! Do I need a concrete pad to place it on and will they put it by my house under the breaker box?? If I move can I take it with me?

Concrete pad ? Oui et Non depending on whom you get it from and with smaller units genrally don't need concrete pad they will use the preformed pad some units don't need pads at all.

But there is couple specfic codes the generatour exhaust have to be at least 10 or 15 feet away from any window ( check the manufacter instruction for that part plus local codes realted to this part )

And if I did recalled correct that you will run on GLP ( Propane ) if so you may need to change the regulatour or increase the gaz line but the qualifed installer will take a look at the exsing system to make sure they can handle the generatour fuel load.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 10:12 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 488
Default

Home generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by beginner50 View Post
Well I do plan on hiring a professional, I will more than likely get references and shop around for a good electrician!! Do I need a concrete pad to place it on and will they put it by my house under the breaker box?? If I move can I take it with me?
It will go on a gravel bed near the panel. Generac recommends against concrete because it is much noisier; but you can do that if you want and the installer is willing to cooperate.

You can move it; but for what ripping it out, moving it, and reinstalling it would cost, you would be better off getting a new one. Think of it as a new furnace; you could move it, but it wouldn't make sense.

(My wife insisted on moving our refrigerator when we moved last year because she liked it more than the one in the new house. I hate to think what that foolishness cost...)
Toller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 10:24 PM   #22
Member
 
beginner50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 98
Default

Home generator


I could probably get a little more for the house if I left it huh?? I mean considering when the power is out it stays out for some time I would think anyone would like the convenience of knowing they have a back up system!!
beginner50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 05:35 AM   #23
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,121
Default

Home generator


Portable set up we usually recommend the 7500 watt w/electric start so wifey or older peeps can do it ...

Generac transfer switch kit...
instead of the reliance cause we can change out breakers to put what we want on the gen set

List price 2500.00 installed complete gen switch cord etc

Never heard that concrete is not recommended ....


They sell a concrete pad ...with the bolt thread installed...for the air cooled gens whew like 3" thick for north 4" thick for hurricane areas...


Hooking up the gas is a big expense or can be ...


FYI generac has released a new homeowner line of gens this month diesel ... I think a 14 kw and for sure a 20kw
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 07:58 AM   #24
Bill Kearney
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,655
Default

Home generator


Look into the automatic start option, it's well worth it. This way if you're away from the house and the power goes out you won't lose the contents of your refrigerator or freezers. Most setups would be good for a few hours of lost power. But if it's out more than 4 hours then you're talking about having to throw out (or get cooking) all the food in your freezer. It doesn't take that happening more than a few times to really appreciate the benefit of an automatic start unit...

The plus side is most automatic units are also capable of starting themselves once a week/month to perform a diagnostic test. This way you'll have a chance of knowing ahead of time whether the unit needs service or not. Instead of being stuck with a dead unit while the service company is slammed fixing everyone else in the same situation.
wkearney99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 09:30 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 488
Default

Home generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by wkearney99 View Post
Most setups would be good for a few hours of lost power. But if it's out more than 4 hours then you're talking about having to throw out (or get cooking) all the food in your freezer.
From the CDC website:
"For the Freezer section: A freezer that is half full will hold food safely for up to 24 hours. A full freezer will hold food safely for 48 hours. Do not open the freezer door if you can avoid it."
The FDA website has similar language.
Obviously that will be a function of the ambient temperature and the age of the freezer, but I expect they are being conservative.

Sure, there may be a difference between food safety and food quality (the texture on ice cream will go bad rather more quickly); but 4 hours is not even close to being correct.
Toller is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Toller For This Useful Post:
Kyle_in_rure (08-11-2013)
Old 08-11-2013, 02:54 PM   #26
Bill Kearney
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,655
Default

Home generator


Sure, argue and quote stats all you like. I'll just go on personal experience.

More than 4 hours with a half-full freezer and you've got problems on your hands. Maybe the food will still be safe to eat, that's certainly possible. But as you point out with ice cream, there are a lot of food products that don't take too well to being even partially thawed.

"Correct" is arguable, but in the end pointless to debate.

It's my advice to take a hard look at whether the convenience of an auto-start is worth the added cost. I've found it to be worth it. As have several friends who have generators that have lost power while they were out of town for several days and had to come back to a flooded area due to their freezer having thawed out. Water damage can be horrendously expensive to fix. More than the auto-starts they all had installed afterward. If you're going to get a fixed install generator then don't skimp on the auto-start.
wkearney99 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to wkearney99 For This Useful Post:
RoyalAcresRod (08-11-2013)
Old 08-11-2013, 03:37 PM   #27
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,963
Default

Home generator


Toller, we got wise, and after dealing with a couple of power outages, started storing 1 gallon milk jugs in our downstairs upright freezer. Upstairs we have the whole bottom section packed with gel packs, to help hold the temp.

Plus side is, that if you lose water, you can thaw out the water, for drinking. I think that we have something like six gallons downstairs in that freezer.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: So what'll happen?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 11:39 PM   #28
Member
 
dmclean701's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 111
Default

Home generator


I agree that propane is the way to go, I had a 10kw Generac unit with a 500 gallon tank, and automatic transfer switch. I mounted it on a concrete pad about 20 feet from the house and it was not too noisy. Where I lived the power was once out for 5 days, so it was well worth the cost.

Sent from my iPad using DIY Forum
dmclean701 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 05:24 AM   #29
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,024
Default

Home generator


It really depends on your power reliability and electrical needs. If you live in a metro area that is not the third world and don't have a PITA wifey or anyone hooked up to a medical device that requires constant power, an automatic whole house setup is serious overkill and a huge waste of $$... unless of course $$ is no object. Otherwise alls you need is a mid-size portable generator (4-8KW, preferably converted for propane or nat gas) and a transfer switch. The best part of this kind of setup is that once you get it you'll probably never need it. Worked for me... so far anyway.
__________________
Live long and prosper.
raylo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to raylo32 For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (08-12-2013)
Old 08-12-2013, 05:34 AM   #30
Bill Kearney
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,655
Default

Home generator


Right, so when the power goes out say, in the middle of a winter snow storm, you'll have to first dig all the way to the shed to get the generator. Then drag it and it's cord over to the house's transfer switch plug (otherwise you'd have voltage drop issues from too long of a cord). And repeat the process for the gasoline, until you run out and have to dig out the car to go get more, but no nearby stations have power, so they can't pump any gas.

Or you still have to go to work during the outage. Who's going to keep the genset refilled? Or keep it from being stolen? But let's hope someone's not stupid enough to try and run it inside the building to prevent that. Sadly, no, it happens all too often and people end up dead from carbon monoxide poisoning.

Then there's the simple fact that most portable generators are not designed to be used for constant duty. Just a couple of hours, not days on end.

Yes, life it full of ways to half-ass all sorts of things. Doesn't make them good ideas, let alone defensible ones.

wkearney99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
B&S Generator with Connecticut Electric Xfer Switch Rick5150 Electrical 19 01-20-2011 10:14 PM
Portable Generator Electrical Ground Earnie Electrical 35 01-18-2011 04:53 PM
wiring a detached shed for AC power *and* generator backhaul wrooster Electrical 19 05-28-2010 11:59 AM
Computer on Generator capt2 Electrical 16 10-23-2008 10:23 AM
Feeding multiple subpanels with a single generator monsoon Electrical 8 10-02-2007 04:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.