Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-15-2012, 03:26 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 141
Share |
Default

home gas furnace problems


In a home gas furnace sometimes the igniter glows and the gas kicks in the furnace igniting . Sometimes the igniter wont glow at all the furnace not starting. I have replace the electrical circuit panel/board and I have replaced the igniter. Why isn't the igniter glowing every time?

debd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 04:09 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,243
Default

home gas furnace problems


Is the draft inducer motor starting? If it is the pressure switch connected to it with a small vacuume tube may be bad. The ports on it also may be clogged. Next time the furnace won't start check to see if there is 24 volts on both sides of the switch on the pressure switch. Check this to ground. Sounds like this might be the problem.

danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to danpik For This Useful Post:
NJMarine (12-16-2012)
Old 12-15-2012, 10:58 PM   #3
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,004
Default

home gas furnace problems


Quote:
Originally Posted by debd View Post
In a home gas furnace sometimes the igniter glows and the gas kicks in the furnace igniting . Sometimes the igniter wont glow at all the furnace not starting. I have replace the electrical circuit panel/board and I have replaced the igniter. Why isn't the igniter glowing every time?
Because something is telling the control board to not allow the igniter to light the gas and probably not allowing the gas to flow either.

What is the make and model of your furnace?
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 02:48 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 141
Default

home gas furnace problems


Goodman
GDS 80703AXBB
debd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 03:25 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 141
Default

home gas furnace problems


Quote:
Originally Posted by danpik View Post
Is the draft inducer motor starting? If it is the pressure switch connected to it with a small vacuume tube may be bad. The ports on it also may be clogged. Next time the furnace won't start check to see if there is 24 volts on both sides of the switch on the pressure switch. Check this to ground. Sounds like this might be the problem.
Yes, both post show full current. Does this mean the pressure switch is good or is there a change it is still bad?
debd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 04:16 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,243
Default

home gas furnace problems


Quote:
Originally Posted by debd View Post
Yes, both post show full current. Does this mean the pressure switch is good or is there a change it is still bad?
What voltage did you see when you tested?
danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 04:31 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 141
Default

home gas furnace problems


Quote:
Originally Posted by danpik View Post
What voltage did you see when you tested?
Its reading 20 volts
debd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 06:42 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,243
Default

home gas furnace problems


Quote:
Originally Posted by debd View Post
Its reading 20 volts
Have you been able to get a reading when the furnace does not lite? 20 is a little on the low side but should work. Idealy 24+ is better.
danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 07:07 PM   #9
Items wanted: Time
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 195
Default

home gas furnace problems


20 volts is not enough, check the voltage across the pressure switch during the start of the heating cycle, should be 0, switch is closed, 24 and switch is open.
NiNe O is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to NiNe O For This Useful Post:
NJMarine (12-17-2012)
Old 12-21-2012, 04:35 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 141
Default

home gas furnace problems


Quote:
Originally Posted by NiNe O View Post
20 volts is not enough, check the voltage across the pressure switch during the start of the heating cycle, should be 0, switch is closed, 24 and switch is open.
Got a more accurate reading, it is 25. When the switch was replaced it was replaced with a generic brand. Currently waiting for a brand name to come in. Hoping that that is the problem.

debd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need URGENT help with question regarding fixing electrical panel in home asledge Electrical 66 02-22-2013 04:49 PM
Help me understand my furnace and home heating GalFriday HVAC 6 12-31-2010 05:26 AM
Coleman Mobile Home Gas Furnace Problems Cberkimer HVAC 12 10-20-2008 09:00 AM
1895 Home door problems js1971 Building & Construction 7 09-04-2008 07:07 AM
Furnace Problems? MCSE HVAC 10 12-20-2006 11:06 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.