Home Electrical Wiring - FMC, NM And A Concrete Wall - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2013, 07:40 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Home Electrical Wiring - FMC, NM and a Concrete Wall


Hello,

I want to add an outdoors outlet box for Christmas lights as well as my electric lawn mower and I have a question about how the wiring should be.



As you can see in the picture, I plan on adding a new 20 amp circuit breaker and running FMC from the panel to the new outlet which will luckily be just opposite the electrical panel. No more than a 6' run.

I also plan on having a switch in the middle of the circuit so I can turn off the Christmas lights at night but my question is how I should go from the wood in the basement through the concrete wall to outside.

I watched a video, , and saw how I could do it if I was tapping off of an existing outlet inside a room just using NM wires but in my case I want to make an entirely new circuit.

At first I planned on just running NM wiring from the circuit breaker panel to outside but from what I've read, the wiring needs to be protected if it's ran up the wall in my basement. If I plan on running such a short run, do I need to use FMC or would I be OK with NM wiring?

I know that this is a fairly simple job but I want to make sure it's up to code and safe.

So if I use FMC, my question is - how do I go from FMC in the basement through a concrete wall to the outside electrical receptacle box on the opposite side of the wall?

Should I find a giant drill bit that will bore a hole big enough for the FMC or can I strip back the metallic conduit and just have the wires themselves go through the concrete?

Any info, pictures or videos would be much appreciated as I'm striking out with Google and YouTube searches.

Thanks.

PS - I live in New Jersey and the house was built around 1955.

Advertisement


Last edited by patjamesucf; 11-22-2013 at 07:42 PM.
patjamesucf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 08:02 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,231
Rewards Points: 2,372
Default

Home Electrical Wiring - FMC, NM and a Concrete Wall


Why drill thru concrete? Go above the concrete wall and out thru wood.

You can not run NM outside, in conduit or not. If conduit the whole way use THWN wire. If only part conduit use UF cable.

Advertisement

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 08:47 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Home Electrical Wiring - FMC, NM and a Concrete Wall


Going up and then through the wood has other issues I don't want to mess with.

So I'll definitely use THWN in the conduit but my question still remains - can I just cut back the conduit and have the THWN wire go through the bored tunnel in the concrete by itself without the conduit?
patjamesucf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 08:52 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 441
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Home Electrical Wiring - FMC, NM and a Concrete Wall


no.single wires must be in conduit or raceway the whole way.you are going to drill a hole any just make it big enough for conduit.
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 05:44 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,138
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Home Electrical Wiring - FMC, NM and a Concrete Wall


Quote:
Originally Posted by patjamesucf View Post
Hello,

I want to add an outdoors outlet box for Christmas lights as well as my electric lawn mower and I have a question about how the wiring should be.



As you can see in the picture, I plan on adding a new 20 amp circuit breaker and running FMC from the panel to the new outlet which will luckily be just opposite the electrical panel. No more than a 6' run.

I also plan on having a switch in the middle of the circuit so I can turn off the Christmas lights at night but my question is how I should go from the wood in the basement through the concrete wall to outside.

I watched a video, , and saw how I could do it if I was tapping off of an existing outlet inside a room just using NM wires but in my case I want to make an entirely new circuit.

At first I planned on just running NM wiring from the circuit breaker panel to outside but from what I've read, the wiring needs to be protected if it's ran up the wall in my basement. If I plan on running such a short run, do I need to use FMC or would I be OK with NM wiring?

I know that this is a fairly simple job but I want to make sure it's up to code and safe.

So if I use FMC, my question is - how do I go from FMC in the basement through a concrete wall to the outside electrical receptacle box on the opposite side of the wall?

Should I find a giant drill bit that will bore a hole big enough for the FMC or can I strip back the metallic conduit and just have the wires themselves go through the concrete?

Any info, pictures or videos would be much appreciated as I'm striking out with Google and YouTube searches.

Thanks.

PS - I live in New Jersey and the house was built around 1955.
how about a pic of the outside ...
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 09:29 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Home Electrical Wiring - FMC, NM and a Concrete Wall


Sure.

patjamesucf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 10:29 AM   #7
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,231
Rewards Points: 2,372
Default

Home Electrical Wiring - FMC, NM and a Concrete Wall


Quote:
Originally Posted by patjamesucf View Post
Sure.

Can't see why you would even consider drilling thru that concrete when going above would be so easy. Even if that siding is asbestos.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 11:05 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Home Electrical Wiring - FMC, NM and a Concrete Wall


No, you're totally right. The wire won't be going through concrete. I was mistaken. I just bought the wiring and will be doing the install today.
patjamesucf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 03:58 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Home Electrical Wiring - FMC, NM and a Concrete Wall


All done!



patjamesucf is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to patjamesucf For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (11-23-2013)
Old 11-23-2013, 05:12 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,138
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Home Electrical Wiring - FMC, NM and a Concrete Wall


LOL now if you only had a timer after the switch then you would not have to walk down each to turn off the lights ...
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 05:31 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Home Electrical Wiring - FMC, NM and a Concrete Wall


Ah yes.. totally got that covered. I've ordered this guy and once it's installed, I can turn off the lights with my iPhone or set up a timer through the app :-)

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00DGE...ims_1?pi=SS115
patjamesucf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 07:40 PM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,138
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Home Electrical Wiring - FMC, NM and a Concrete Wall


link does not really display correctly for me ..
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 07:50 PM   #13
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,231
Rewards Points: 2,372
Default

Home Electrical Wiring - FMC, NM and a Concrete Wall


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
link does not really display correctly for me ..

It is a remote control WIFI enabled switch.

Advertisement

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
code , concrete , electrical wiring , outdoors , wiring in basement


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mounting 60" LCD to thin concrete wall flatblackstrat Concrete, Stone & Masonry 7 02-18-2013 08:21 PM
Concrete Basics for the DIYer Mort Concrete, Stone & Masonry 7 11-22-2012 12:19 PM
Concrete (Cinder) Block Barebones Home : Seeking Advice granadaCoder Building & Construction 11 08-11-2012 08:03 AM
Simple question regarding Wall Switch wiring kebrein Electrical 6 11-25-2011 08:54 PM
Need help with how to mount porch light to concrete foundation wall wherm5150 Electrical 7 11-16-2010 09:56 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts