Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-12-2013, 04:42 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

home breaker panels


how do i tell if my service is 100 or 200 amps?

d5lee2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 05:11 PM   #2
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,250
Rewards Points: 2,078
Default

home breaker panels


You should be able to call the power company, they can tell you what the rating of the service is.

Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 05:20 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

home breaker panels


Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Holzman View Post
You should be able to call the power company, they can tell you what the rating of the service is.
Not really. How would they know?


d5lee2, open you breaker panel door. Look at the main breaker. If there is a number on it 99% sure that is your service size.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 05:33 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,282
Rewards Points: 562
Default

home breaker panels


99 and a just won't do?
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 06:06 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

home breaker panels


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
99 and a just won't do?
99 & 44/100%
Remember that one?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (01-12-2013)
Old 01-12-2013, 06:41 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,942
Rewards Points: 3,000
Default

home breaker panels


Just look at what's on the main breaker.
Should be written right on the handle.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 07:42 PM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,842
Rewards Points: 2,478
Blog Entries: 4
Default

home breaker panels


And don't add the handles together. 100 on two handles is a 100 amp service not a 200 amp service.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Added new breaker, no garage lights now. lum1nes Electrical 8 08-04-2012 07:50 PM
breaker keeps tripping RMCarner Electrical 29 07-22-2012 09:53 AM
Proper grounding of breaker panels fed from T1220 terminal box jcrvt Electrical 10 06-16-2012 12:37 PM
Code on supplying breaker panels spebby Electrical 10 11-01-2007 08:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.