High Voltage Fire Alarm - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2009, 07:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

high voltage fire alarm


I am building a new house and hired a contractor to build the house. Initially, an electrician was hired to install high voltage fire alarm but the town building department has rejected that he cannot install high voltage alarm because it is more than 15 alarms. The town ordered him to remove all the wires. We decided to hire someone else to install low voltage alarms. Now, electrician person told me the code has been changed that all the alarm system has to be high voltage and charged me 1500 dollars for the work. Now I ended up having two alarm systems(high and low voltage). Do you think this makes sense? Is the code changed? I really need help.

Advertisement

jungboklee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 07:27 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 10
Default

high voltage fire alarm


I'm sure you're anxiously waiting for an answer. I can't provide the answer, but I'm sure those that can will want to know where you are located. If nothing else, call your local inspection office and ask. It shouldn't be a secret.

Advertisement

finnimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 07:56 PM   #3
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 500
Default

high voltage fire alarm


It sure sounds like someone is playing you. You must suspect this too or you wouldn't have posted. Did you ever talk to the inspection office personally?
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 10:07 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Smile

high voltage fire alarm


Thanks so much.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
It sure sounds like someone is playing you. You must suspect this too or you wouldn't have posted. Did you ever talk to the inspection office personally?
jungboklee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
why wouldn't circuit breaker prevent fire? fauer Electrical 26 11-28-2008 09:38 PM
Low voltage box question WShawn Electrical 7 08-19-2008 07:22 AM
2 - 900w tansformers on a 15A circuit? tonyBagadonuts Electrical 19 07-20-2008 08:15 PM
Sub Panel Grounding Question. RobertS Electrical 63 02-27-2008 02:50 PM
Low voltage in same box as high voltage? mpedrummer Electrical 2 02-28-2007 12:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts