Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-08-2012, 09:38 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Phila, Pa
Posts: 79
Share |
Default

hiding ac outlets


im doing a room redo. i want to put in rope lighting for accent lighting. however i cant seem to find direct wire rope light. so im left with plugin type. the thing is i do not want the plug to show and i dont want to keep having to unplug and plug it back in so i was thinking of putting in a recessed outlet and hiding the outlet with a "trapdoor" and controling the outlet with a wall switch.

im looking for thoughts, opinions and suggestions on this idea.

thanks

echobravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 08:45 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Western PA
Posts: 203
Default

hiding ac outlets


That was the first thing I thought of.

Another idea is some kind of valence which hides the outlet from view, but wouldn't involve a recessed outlet.
Attached Thumbnails
hiding ac outlets-ropelights2.jpg  

Dave632 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 10:12 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 97
Default

hiding ac outlets


I did something similar in my kitchen, with rope lights sitting on top of the cabinets to provide accent lighting. I put a single gang box, mounted horizontally, right at the top edge of the cabinet. The outlet is a switched split duplex with one plug for the rope lights, and the second for the under-cabinet puck lights. I painted the outlet covers to match the wall. With the outlets being much higher than eye level, plus blocked by crown molding, they are really not noticeable. At 6'1", if I stand way back and look for them I can see the top of the wall plate.
tev9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 01:55 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Phila, Pa
Posts: 79
Default

hiding ac outlets


thanks all appreciate the input
echobravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 12:29 PM
Gfi outlets keep tripping but not constantly INEEDHELPPLZ1 Electrical 22 09-30-2011 08:28 AM
Grounding outlets... bigdaddyII Electrical 12 08-28-2011 02:22 PM
Supplemental Outlets in 1950's House Perry401 Electrical 2 05-01-2011 08:49 PM
outlets work, but barely (?) joeyboy Electrical 7 08-27-2008 08:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.