Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2010, 10:31 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Helping adding a light to an existing 3 way circuit.


First, let me say I'm glad I found this forum.

I plan on adding a second light in the kitchen to an existing circuit that is controlled by to separate switches. From what I can tell (hard area to get to in the attic), power goes directly to the light. From the light, I have 12/2 to the first switch, then a 12/3 going from the first switch to the second.

Any thoughts?

McSooner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 10:38 PM   #2
Electrical Supplier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 205
Default

Helping adding a light to an existing 3 way circuit.


If it was done right, the power doesnt "go" to the light. Your neutral is there. The wire may enter the box, but the hot is just sent to one of the switches.

You need to find the Common in the circuit. One of the 3 ways receives the line voltage on the common and one sends the switched load from its common. Once you find that (the switched common), you are set.

Just cut the line and insert the light in series with the other one.

LyonsElecSupply is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 04:53 AM   #3
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,981
Default

Helping adding a light to an existing 3 way circuit.


The only place you can connect is at the existing light. Run 12-2 from the new light and connect to the same wires the old light is connected.

You can not wire to either of the switch locations as you will have no neutral.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 06:23 AM   #4
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

Helping adding a light to an existing 3 way circuit.


Rjniles is right. You have to run 12/2 from the existing light to the new one. Connect the black and white of the 12/2 to the black and white of the current light (there will be three wires under each wire nut).
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 09:54 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Helping adding a light to an existing 3 way circuit.


Thank you both so much!!!
McSooner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a light between a light switch and the receptacle it controls jej2csi Electrical 3 11-24-2010 07:06 AM
Light switch vacancy detector, on two switch circuit sheslostcontrol Electrical 4 10-28-2010 01:55 PM
Bathroom light on a gfi circuit Debbo Electrical 1 04-28-2010 09:32 PM
Branching off existing circuit schnitz411 Electrical 13 03-14-2010 10:11 PM
Adding second light switch to an existing light TexasEd Electrical 7 08-15-2008 06:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.