Help Wiring Four Switches (Pics Included) - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-31-2013, 12:52 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help Wiring Four Switches (Pics Included)


Hi all,

Below are a few pictures for four switches I am trying to install. Before, there were four regular switches which controlled:
Switch 1) Outside Lights (Only controlled with this switch)
Switch 2) Outside Lights (Only controlled with this switch)
Switch 3) Inside Lights (One other switch controlled)
Switch 4) Inside Lights (One other switch controlled)

I would like to install, in the order of the pictures below, a timed outside light in the first and second position, a dimmer for the third and a regular three way light for the forth.

I am having trouble figuring out where to wire everything from the new switches, especially the blue wires. Please help!

Thank you in advance!






Advertisement

mrmag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 02:26 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,056
Rewards Points: 2,910
Default

Help Wiring Four Switches (Pics Included)


The blue on the one switch says it is the load going to the fixture. A hot wire would feed the switch.

Also SW1 does not have a white. That is a black that has been painted over. You can scratch the paint off with your nails to see the correct colors.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 02:37 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help Wiring Four Switches (Pics Included)


Where does the ground connect to the first two switches? I do not see anything on the actual switch.
mrmag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 08:55 PM   #4
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Help Wiring Four Switches (Pics Included)


The hot wire for SW1 appears to be white with black tape to re-identify it.
It could be a switch loop, with no neutral, so the timer (that needs a neutral) won't work.
__________________
If at first you don't succeed .... do not work on live electrical
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 11:24 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Help Wiring Four Switches (Pics Included)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gac66610 View Post
The hot wire for SW1 appears to be white with black tape to re-identify it.
It could be a switch loop, with no neutral, so the timer (that needs a neutral) won't work.
There is a neutral present in the switch box.

The OP will need to add a pigtail from the white wires that are all wire-nutted together to make any timer work.

Edit to add: You may be correct, if that switch loop is on a different circuit than the rest of the switches there.....
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!

Last edited by kbsparky; 08-31-2013 at 11:26 PM.
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 12:13 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help Wiring Four Switches (Pics Included)


Update:

I wired the switch 1 by doing the following:
Black (Line) from Switch - Black (hot) in box
Blue (Load) from Switch - Wire marked as "Switch 1 White)
White (Neutral) from Switch - Wire-nutted with Whites in box

Turned on the juice and no power. In fact, the GFCI upstream tripped and will not reset.

What am I doing wrong?
mrmag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 01:02 PM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Help Wiring Four Switches (Pics Included)


I'm going to suggest this now...call an electrician before you make a small service call a really expensive one.

That GFI is not upstream if it is tripping. It is probably tripping because you used the neutral and shouldn't have...thus creating an imbalance the GFI is sensing on its load side.

Advertisement

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
weird wiring and wierd voltages on 3 dual switches... meweber1000 Electrical 5 12-18-2012 01:37 PM
Question on wiring two banks of lights from two switches dustycreek Electrical 3 09-09-2012 05:34 PM
Wiring fixtures when there are three way switches involved phospher Electrical 17 05-27-2009 10:56 PM
Wiring diagram for lights with two switches Ed M Electrical 7 08-10-2008 09:59 AM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 02:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts