Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-04-2008, 07:00 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: georgia
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

help wiring detached garage to code


Should of asked this sooner as I about through (was using NEC 2002 but county uses 2005) but here goes: Wiring detached garage with one 20 amp circuit from main house breaker. One 12/2 w/ ground UF cable in 1" conduit buried 18" deep (I thought 6" was enough but inspector said 18") to disconnect mounted on exterior of garage. From there i am pulling two 12/2 cables: One for 5 outlets (first one GFCI) and one for 5 lights: 2 coach lights, 1 outside service door and 2 overhead flourescents (which are plugged into 2 additional outlets) I am "pigtailing" the 12/2 line side in the light switch box to have 2 seperate light switches. Also, do I need a 3' x 3' concrete stoop outside service door? Thanks in advance for any help.

ugabulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2008, 07:38 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,289
Rewards Points: 2,240
Default

help wiring detached garage to code


Personally, it would of been better to pull #6 or #8 to allow for 240vac service, and with that, you could go 60amp to allow for future needs. That is just my opinion. My garage had 12awg NM, and ended up pulling, and replacing with 10awg for a 30amp circuit to allow all 120vac for a 20amp for outlets, and 15amp for lighting.

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2008, 08:15 PM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

help wiring detached garage to code


The electrical sounds ok. But GFCI protect those florescent light receptacle outlets also. Many inspectors will allow the garage door opener exception, but no other ceiling receptacles under the 2005.

I have no idea about the cement work.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2008, 08:17 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: georgia
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

help wiring detached garage to code


Greg, you are not the first to suggest that I add more power capability but I decided to go this route anyway.

I just read that cables running horizontally between studs need to be at least 8' if not covered by sheetrock..... looks like I will be re-pulling some anyway.

Last edited by ugabulldog; 08-04-2008 at 08:22 PM.
ugabulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2008, 08:29 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

help wiring detached garage to code


Quote:
Originally Posted by ugabulldog View Post
I just read that cables running horizontally between studs need to be at least 8' if not covered by sheetrock..... looks like I will be re-pulling some anyway.
Is that a local code?
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2008, 08:38 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: georgia
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

help wiring detached garage to code


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrclen View Post
Is that a local code?
jr, here is a link where i read it: http://www.stpaul.gov/DocumentView.asp?DID=1404 page 2

I thought they pulled it from the NEC, maybe local, I hope? I do not live in St. Paul.
ugabulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 07:39 AM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,289
Rewards Points: 2,240
Default

help wiring detached garage to code


The reason for being up in the Rafters, is so that people do not hang stuff off of them, and the wire actually has to be secured along the rafters, not just laying there.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 08:48 AM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

help wiring detached garage to code


Quote:
Originally Posted by ugabulldog View Post
jr, here is a link where i read it: http://www.stpaul.gov/DocumentView.asp?DID=1404 page 2

I thought they pulled it from the NEC, maybe local, I hope? I do not live in St. Paul.
That is a local code. I suppose some people might use the romex to hold their tools or something. Give your local inspector a call to make sure. That is not in the NEC.

__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mold in detached garage jkrodger Building & Construction 15 05-01-2009 01:46 PM
wiring detached garage ugabulldog Electrical 5 07-24-2008 04:13 PM
Wiring new detached garage/studio WShawn Electrical 4 07-21-2008 06:13 PM
Enhancing existing wiring to detached garage justinperkins Electrical 46 07-07-2008 07:29 PM
Grounding for detached all-metal garage geeswanie Electrical 3 07-03-2008 07:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.