Help Wiring Blower Fan - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2013, 07:21 PM   #31
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Help wiring blower fan


Its a 2P because it has off/on on the toggle. He is using the wrong terminals.

Advertisement

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 07:24 PM   #32
macon, ga bibb county
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: macon ga
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Help wiring blower fan


Ok thanks got it going now I am having trouble wiring the 3 way switch so I can use the hi , med , and low. I have a two button 1 pole switch with a tab in the back that says it splits the circuit. I'm guessing I need to remove that and jumper 1 hot from the dpst line to one of the black screws then I'm lost (If that is even right). I have a red= low a blue=med a black=hi a yellow= com off the motor. Thanks for the help so far!!

Help wiring blower fan-image-3684792653.jpg



Help wiring blower fan-image-2597764853.jpg



Help wiring blower fan-image-2437964623.jpg
Lupus71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 07:25 PM   #33
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Help wiring blower fan


You will not be able to use all three speeds.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 07:43 PM   #34
macon, ga bibb county
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: macon ga
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Help wiring blower fan


Didn't see some of you guys earlier posts. But no i don't know what I'm doin that's why I'm asking you guys. Isn't that what this forum is for? Yes it is a double pole switch and no it didn't come with any directions the box was empty and it doesn't say anything on the switch.the 3 way switch is a single pole. Thought one of you said I could get multi speeds with a 3 way?
s a single pole.
Lupus71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 08:36 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Help wiring blower fan


you could get two max , not all three. the double pole would have had a wiring diagram printed inside the box. so for the three way you could tie one side of the 240 to the common, the other side of the 240 directly to the motor common & pick two speeds you want to use , hook one wire too each remaining screws on the three way ,again only two speeds possible. unless you use a selector switch with 3 pos
circuitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 08:44 PM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Help wiring blower fan


another thing i just saw that switch is a combination single pole & three way. just buy a three way switch ,& wire it like i said in my previous post. the double pole will cut it completely off , & the three way will give you two speeds.you may want to label which ever speed you have selected.btw the switch companies are getting to cheap imo to put diagrams on a seperate piece of paper, so they just print them in the box.
circuitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 08:45 PM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Help wiring blower fan


you could use the two switches in series. 'off' position on first switch would get wired for low speed. when in 'on' position, circuit goes to second switch where 'off' could be wired to medium, 'on' to high. turn the whole thing off back at the disconnect.

but as others have said, you need 240V switches and they need to be horsepower-rated for motor applications. just get the lo-med-high switch and be done with it.

Last edited by itsnotrequired; 09-22-2013 at 08:52 PM.
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to itsnotrequired For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (09-23-2013)
Old 09-22-2013, 09:05 PM   #38
macon, ga bibb county
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: macon ga
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Help wiring blower fan


Well after all this i hooked it up with just the switch and the low setting like before only this time I added the filters in the back and it pulls on them pretty hard so I think it needs to stay on low. I wont have to eorry about sweating thats for sure, i just hope it doesnt pop my contacts out!Thanks for all the help though,here's some pics.

Help wiring blower fan-image-2145632956.jpg



Help wiring blower fan-image-843431536.jpg
Lupus71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 09:08 PM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Help wiring blower fan


make sure you have a makeup air source or the cleaner won't work right.

edit: nevermind, looks like you are just circulating and not exhausting.

Last edited by itsnotrequired; 09-22-2013 at 09:11 PM.
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 09:21 PM   #40
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Help wiring blower fan


i've got several blowers like that but open, can't beat them for cooling a shop on a hot day.nice idea on the cabinet. glad we could help!
circuitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 09:09 PM   #41
macon, ga bibb county
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: macon ga
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Help wiring blower fan


Hey guys I'm trying to find a switch that will be safe with this 3/4 hp 240v 5.4 amp squirrel cage fan. I looked at the switch posted on here but it is only rated at 5amps. I also read that these motors have a high start surge and the switch needs to be 125% the amp rating of the motor and all I can find is a 30 amp dpst for $30!!!! That's the cheapest motor switch I can find. I'm scared that the regular 20amp switch I'm using now might cause a fire or something. Am I worrying too much about this or do I need to shell out for a motor rated switch? I did how ever find a few that said they were motor switches but at $5there has to be something I'm missing.

Help wiring blower fan-image-2438691061.jpg



Help wiring blower fan-image-2177561281.jpg
Lupus71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 09:52 PM   #42
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,138
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Help wiring blower fan


I gove you the right stuff already ..re read ..LOL


post # 10



http://www.gbindustrialdirect.com/fa...FZSd4Aod-CYAXg

__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 07:29 PM   #43
macon, ga bibb county
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: macon ga
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Help wiring blower fan


I saw the fan switch but was worried about it being 5 amps and the motor is 5.4. If you think it's good though I'm all for it! Thanks for the help!
Lupus71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 08:02 PM   #44
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Help wiring blower fan


for the speed selecting...that RED wire is the one that has to be switched to the speed colors....so why not just install 3 toggle switches and select the one you want to run ..but keep in mind never put 2 speeds ON the one motor at the same time.... basically like a ceiling fan speed selector but for a larger motor as you have
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 10:28 PM   #45
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,710
Rewards Points: 2,380
Default

Help wiring blower fan


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lupus71 View Post
I saw the fan switch but was worried about it being 5 amps and the motor is 5.4. If you think it's good though I'm all for it! Thanks for the help!
Dont expect long life from that switch.

If you want long life, use a better quality switch,
and if you want speed selection, it should be a multi position switch,
Not three individual switchs ! that's just asking for trouble !

Do it once ! Do it well !

Advertisement

dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wiring 3 wire blower motor to pop up vent frustratedbill Electrical 1 12-03-2012 03:22 PM
Montgomery wards 700 blower wiring Thathayes HVAC 4 11-13-2012 10:21 PM
Odd Fireplace Outlet Behavior permagrin Electrical 2 12-17-2011 09:06 AM
Need help wiring a.c.smith blower moter STEVEEBY HVAC 8 07-02-2011 10:26 AM
AC blower short cycling-works on heat though Steve60007 HVAC 14 06-22-2009 05:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts