Help Wiring An Air Compressor - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2009, 04:26 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

help wiring an air compressor


Can someone tell me how to wire up this air compressor , it is 5hp , 60 gal .. here are the wires .. I don't know how to hook up the reset button and the pressure switch ..

The pressure switch has "line" and "motor"




Advertisement

cmimotors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 07:10 PM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

help wiring an air compressor


C'est simple.,,


P1 go to line one black cord conductor { yellow wirenut will fit this }

The T-1 and red and bleu that those three conductor you will need wirenut { I don't think yellow will fit there so red wirenut will fit it just fine }

The white and black that will tie to the remarked white cord conductor that you will need either red or yellow wire nut

You will need 10-3 SO cord { keep in your mind there is diffrence between the two } between pressure switch and motor I will give you details in a second for pressure switch set up.,

You will need NM clamp it will be tight fit but it will fit in there and yeah make sure you have green cord conductor to motor green conductor you will need yellow wirenut for this one.

Now next step is pressure switch from the motor lead to the prssure switch the bottom two are for motor connection so take the black one to lower left screw then take the remarked white to lower right screw and green conductor to green screw { a tip do the ground conductors first on both motor side and line side}

Now for line side you will need 10-3 SO cord or go with hardwire { this will make the diffrence there basically both are same way as you will see in a second }

take the cord the black one to upper left side of pressure switch connection and the remarked white to upper right side of pressure switch and green conductor to grounding screw { see the tip above }

With cord verison get 10-3 SO or 10-2 NM cable { if go hardwire route }

{ the 10 AWG will be tougher to bend but it will be doable }

If more quesiton just holler one of us will steer ya in right way.

Merci,Marc

A note here It will be better suited to use all 10 AWG cable or cord size due you are on the boarderline with 20 amp rated motor there.
Also you will need 6-30P and 6-30R with 30 amp due I just double check the chart for that motor useage.

Advertisement


Last edited by frenchelectrican; 09-15-2009 at 07:23 PM. Reason: add more info on the bottom
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 07:18 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

help wiring an air compressor


The diagrams on the motor are pretty straight forward. I don't know if it is supposed to be colckwise or counter clockwise.

It is currently set up for CCW rotation.

On this 240 volt installation, L1 and L2 are the two #10 gauge hot wires coming from the 2 pole, 30 amp circuit breaker. A third #10 ground wire attaches to the green wire to make the installation safe.






L1 (one hot wire) wirenutted to P1

L2 (the other hot wire) wirenutted to black/white

Blue, red and T1 wirenutted together.

Green (or bare) wirenutted to green.

Last edited by 220/221; 09-15-2009 at 07:20 PM.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 10:38 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

help wiring an air compressor


Ok ... I think I have the motor wired right.. but the 10-3 has 4 wires (red,black,white,green) where do they go ..

Is this picture of wiring right..?

cmimotors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 11:18 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

help wiring an air compressor


I guess the 220 wires are not actually "red,black,white,green" but are "red,black,white,bare copper" wires ..
cmimotors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 11:42 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

help wiring an air compressor


No. The power, 230 volts goes to:

P1 - line
wht/blk or wht/red - line

Last edited by J. V.; 09-16-2009 at 11:48 AM.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 12:22 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

help wiring an air compressor


What do you mean ..?.. I don't understand ..?.. Is the picture I have above right for the compressor..?..
cmimotors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 01:28 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

help wiring an air compressor


See if this will help. Sorry, I have to hand draw it, don't have any drawing software With your cable, you won't use the neutral, just 2 hots and a ground.
Attached Thumbnails
help wiring an air compressor-aircompressor-001.jpg  
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 03:49 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

help wiring an air compressor


When I wired it as shown it popped a 30a fuse .. Checked wiring again and tried again and it popped another 30a fuse ..?.. what is wrong..?
cmimotors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 07:24 PM   #10
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

help wiring an air compressor


Which way you have it hook up and you say fuse or circuit breaker ?


If you follow the connection as Wirenut draw it out there is no way it can pop the breaker out unless you got one of the strand or a wire pintched somewhere.

Check it again to make sure there is nothing pitched at all.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 09:13 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

help wiring an air compressor


The garage has a small power box/fuse box with 2 fuses (both 30a) .. It blows 1 everytime you turn the power switch on .. I checked all the wires & marr connectors everyting is good.. When you turn the power on the compressor motor starts to start but it blows 1 of the 30a fuses .. I checked the power at the pressure switch (with the motor wires dis-connected) it has 244 volts .. Could there be something wrong with the motor or the reset button..?. The motor is wired as the wiring instructions on the side of the motor .. The compressor is brand new ...How can I check the motor ..?.. Can the wires be checked with an ohm meter and if so what would the resistances be..?
cmimotors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 09:37 PM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

help wiring an air compressor


Where did you connect the incoming white wire?

If you have correctly wired this, then that white wire should =not= be connected to anything.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 10:07 PM   #13
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

help wiring an air compressor


Ok .,

Let start at the motor source what colour conductor you hook up at the motor and pressure switch the reason why I ask due somewhere something got transponded { got mixed up } on the conductor colours.

To check the motor winding get the ohmmeter on ohm scale { make sure you have power supply to this motor is really 100% off otherwise it can ruin your tester }

take any leads like T1 or L2 or L1 at the motor termal and take one ohmeter lead to one of any pair of conductors and the other test lead to the motor housing if the needle or it show zero or super low number then you have a serious current leakage on the motor btw you may want to check the capaitor to see if it is damaged as well.

If damaged it will useally swell or one end budged and also make a open reading as well.

that is should be very basic to find the curpit.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 11:24 PM   #14
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,632
Rewards Points: 1,058
Default

help wiring an air compressor


Are the fuses screw-in, or cartridge type?

In either case, for a motor to operate, the fuses must be time delay. They cost quite a bit more than the fast-acting ones. Most of them are labelled 'dual-element time delay'.

The screw-in time-delay type might not start a motor this size at all, the cartridge one likely will. A 5 HP motor that draws 20 amps will push the limits of even the best 30 amp fuse.

Rob

Advertisement

micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a compressor scrapin Electrical 25 03-19-2012 12:35 AM
Wiring air compressor in to shop KAdams4458 Electrical 39 09-07-2009 05:13 AM
Air compressor wiring help integlikewhoa Electrical 3 01-18-2009 12:42 PM
New Compressor - Wrong Charge? shayneb HVAC 4 08-23-2008 09:13 AM
Replacing Wiring From Outside Fuse Box To Central Ac Compressor bobo Electrical 8 03-02-2007 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts