Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-23-2010, 02:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Help with wiring


I am installing a built in ironing board cabinet and I have an electrical wire running from stud to stud right through the center of where my cabinet needs to go. The cabinet will fit fairly snug against the studs and I am perplexed at how to re-route this wire so it will not be in the way. I don't have room for a junction box. I thought about splicing in some wire to re-route it either over the top or under the cabinet, but I can't really do that because the wire nuts would still be in the way and it wouldn't be to code. Of course I have already cut out the sheet rock and there is no other location I can put this thing. Any ideas?
Attached Images
 

CherylEllison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 06:19 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,142
Default

Help with wiring


How deep is your cabinet, maybe you could chip some of the stud away and push that wire towards the back of the opening and then have room to get your cabinet in.

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 06:28 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Default

Help with wiring


if not a load bearing wall you could cut a box size hole in each stud , then cut box size hole in left and right side of frame. Run a wire from one side to the other under the frame area, install frame add junction box with cover plate on one side. If wire is a constant hot make the other side a receptacle
__________________
The older I get the better I was
tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 09:05 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Help with wiring


I figured it out. The wire was coming from the nearby switch and went to my outside lights. I just ran a new wire from the switch up through the wall to just above the cabinet opening and then I ran the existing wire up the other side by routing a groove in the stud (I know that is generally a no no) and spliced them together in a junction box up above the cabinet.
CherylEllison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 09:06 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Help with wiring


Just make sure the junction box is accessible
It can't be hidden/covered
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 07:53 AM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 06:45 PM
electric wiring in house remodel wis_remod Electrical 6 04-02-2009 02:40 PM
New Home Wiring - Seeking Expert Advice Dirtrnr Electrical 3 02-10-2009 10:33 AM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.