Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-04-2012, 02:46 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 501
Share |
Default

Help with wiring 4 switches please.


Ok, so I have these 4 switches I need to re-wire. Can someone draw some lines to fill in the blanks for me on this diagram?

Thanks so much.
Attached Thumbnails
Help with wiring 4 switches please.-photo.jpg  

noone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 03:02 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,646
Default

Help with wiring 4 switches please.


are you using 4 switches to turn on the same fixture? if i remember right for 4 locations you need 2- 4ways and 2- 3 ways. power to one 3 way, fixture to the other 3 way. travelers from each 3 way to a 4 way and travelers between the 4 ways. the hot would go on the common screw on the 3 way and the fixture would go on the common on the other 3 way. i'm sure someone else will correct me if i am wrong. some places require a neutral in a switch box so check your local code.


Last edited by DannyT; 10-04-2012 at 03:04 PM.
DannyT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 03:08 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 501
Default

Help with wiring 4 switches please.


From left to right:

Switch 1 - 3 way switch = Other switch of 3 way circuit

Switch 2 = single pole switch to control power to fan on exhaust fan/light combo

Switch 3 = single pole switch to control power to light on exhaust fan/light combo

Switch 4 = single pole switch to control single can light
noone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 03:40 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,741
Default

Help with wiring 4 switches please.


From the power cable, connect the black to the bottom of all switches, except the 3 way, connect the black wire to the common screw.

Connect all white wires together.
At the 3 way, connect the black and red from the cable to either screw on the switch.

From the 3 wire cable, connect the black top of one switch, and the red to the top of another.

The last 14/2 cable, connect the black to the top of the last switch.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
noone (10-04-2012)
Old 10-04-2012, 03:54 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 501
Default

Help with wiring 4 switches please.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
From the power cable, connect the black to the bottom of all switches, except the 3 way, connect the black wire to the common screw.

Connect all white wires together.
At the 3 way, connect the black and red from the cable to either screw on the switch.

From the 3 wire cable, connect the black top of one switch, and the red to the top of another.

The last 14/2 cable, connect the black to the top of the last switch.
So there are actually 2 'power' wires. One 14/2 power wire, and one 14/2 wire that continues on to a power socket. So do I need to twist these blacks together along with 4 black 'feeder' wires that go to all 4 switches, or is there a slicker way to do this so i don't have to twist 6 wires together?

Last edited by noone; 10-04-2012 at 04:01 PM.
noone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 06:57 PM   #6
Pro
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Help with wiring 4 switches please.


I'm interested in this as well
johnnystripes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 09:36 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 46
Default

Help with wiring 4 switches please.


Quote:
So there are actually 2 'power' wires. One 14/2 power wire, and one 14/2 wire that continues on to a power socket. So do I need to twist these blacks together along with 4 black 'feeder' wires that go to all 4 switches, or is there a slicker way to do this so i don't have to twist 6 wires together?
I've seen cases where when you have a 3 wire for a 3 way switch that the black of the 3 wire is the common and the white and red are travellers. hooking up the white of the 3 way could trip your circuit if you put it with the other whites and if you put it on the switch.. Ideally with 3 way switches you want to see how it was wired before or be prepared to use a meter to see how it is ran.

I would twist them together, but yeah it might be tricky if you don't know how. Make sure you size your wire nut appropriately. It will say on the box how many wires you can do min and max
AltaSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 09:36 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 501
Default

Help with wiring 4 switches please.


Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnystripes View Post
I'm interested in this as well
I think I could have notched out the insulation off a single black wire in 3 places and then attached that single wire across all 4 switches and that would have eliminated the need for all the runners.

But I didn't go through that hassle and just used 4 runners and it worked fine and everything fit into the box just fine. I just pre-twisted the 6 wires together with linesman pliers and then topped it off with a red. I also pre-twisted the whites and grounds together the same way and topped them with a red.

jbfan-

Thanks for the help. Everything worked perfectly. The first time.

Last edited by noone; 10-04-2012 at 09:39 PM.
noone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 06:12 AM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,741
Default

Help with wiring 4 switches please.


Quote:
Originally Posted by noone View Post
I think I could have notched out the insulation off a single black wire in 3 places and then attached that single wire across all 4 switches and that would have eliminated the need for all the runners.

But I didn't go through that hassle and just used 4 runners and it worked fine and everything fit into the box just fine. I just pre-twisted the 6 wires together with linesman pliers and then topped it off with a red. I also pre-twisted the whites and grounds together the same way and topped them with a red.

jbfan-

Thanks for the help. Everything worked perfectly. The first time.
Did you take a ground wire to each switch?

Thanks for letting me know how it came out.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 06:45 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 501
Default

Help with wiring 4 switches please.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Did you take a ground wire to each switch?

Thanks for letting me know how it came out.

No. I twisted all the grounds together in the box. Is this ok?
noone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 06:59 AM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,741
Default

Help with wiring 4 switches please.


Quote:
Originally Posted by noone View Post
No. I twisted all the grounds together in the box. Is this ok?
If the switches have ground screws, they need to be connected.
Is the the boc plastic or metal?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 07:18 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 501
Default

Help with wiring 4 switches please.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
If the switches have ground screws, they need to be connected.
Is the the boc plastic or metal?
I don't think any of the switches had ground screws, ill have to check tonite when I get home. They are the rocker style switch that is plastic. The body of the switch appears to be black plastic. Not sure what 'boc' stands for....
noone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 07:19 AM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,741
Default

Help with wiring 4 switches please.


Box!!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 07:20 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 501
Default

Help with wiring 4 switches please.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Box!!
Haha!

Duh!

It's plastic. Blue Carlon.
noone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 07:55 AM   #15
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,741
Default

Help with wiring 4 switches please.


Since it is not metal, and if you for sure have no ground screws on any of the switches, you have done all you can do with the ground wires.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two switches wiring question zappero Electrical 9 04-29-2012 08:47 AM
WIring for a ceiling fan with dual switches ddw2942 Electrical 4 08-25-2011 10:25 PM
wiring 2 hi/low/limit switches in parallel CowboyAndy HVAC 3 12-11-2008 01:50 PM
wiring switches Dean1234 Electrical 2 11-01-2008 11:46 PM
wiring two switches and two fans rtyui2 Electrical 1 11-22-2007 04:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.