Help With Wire Configuration - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2012, 12:44 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help with wire configuration


Hello, I recently bought a house a few months back. I was in the process of starting to install a new light but came across what I think is a weird wire configuration for our foyer light. There are 2 3-way switches and 1 4-way switch. There is 14/3 wire coming into both 3-way switches. There are 2 14/2 cables coming into the 4-way switch. I thought the 14/3 should be coming into the 4-way switch and then back out to the second 3-way switch. I'm a little confused on this configuration. Could anyone be able to help me figure out how this is wired?

Thanks,
Jason

Advertisement

jaason2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 01:32 PM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,162
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Help with wire configuration


Quote:
Originally Posted by jaason2004 View Post
Hello, I recently bought a house a few months back. I was in the process of starting to install a new light but came across what I think is a weird wire configuration for our foyer light. There are 2 3-way switches and 1 4-way switch. There is 14/3 wire coming into both 3-way switches. There are 2 14/2 cables coming into the 4-way switch. I thought the 14/3 should be coming into the 4-way switch and then back out to the second 3-way switch. I'm a little confused on this configuration. Could anyone be able to help me figure out how this is wired?

Thanks,
Jason
Its not weird, a four way switch only requires 4 conductors. The real problem is that if you can't draw these wiring diagrams on paper, its hard to envision the endless wiring possibilities that are possible.

Advertisement


Last edited by stickboy1375; 05-27-2012 at 01:36 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 08:36 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 2,051
Rewards Points: 1,022
Default

Help with wire configuration


Why are you fussing with the switches when the light connections are in the ceiling? Should be no need to rewire the switches to get the light to work.
bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 08:41 AM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,345
Rewards Points: 3,484
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Help with wire configuration


This is a bit unconventional but it can work if all the cables from the switches go back to the fixture box. It would need to be one large box to fit all the cables into it properly.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 02:07 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,611
Rewards Points: 2,130
Default

Help with wire configuration


Heres a diagram although it may not match your setup. Power coming into this setup via the 3-way switch on the right.
Attached Thumbnails
Help with wire configuration-4-way-switch-wiring-diagram-2.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 02:29 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,994
Rewards Points: 2,786
Default

Help with wire configuration


If you are replacing a switch make the new connections the same as the old. No need to mess with any connections not related to the fixture.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 03:38 PM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,162
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Help with wire configuration


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post
Heres a diagram although it may not match your setup. Power coming into this setup via the 3-way switch on the right.
Thats the problem, so many ways to to wire a 3way 4way setup.

Advertisement

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What type wire to use from transfer switch to outdoor outlet brjl Electrical 32 11-20-2013 09:36 AM
Proper Use of Green Wire Nuts HooKooDooKu Electrical 16 06-29-2012 07:41 PM
ceiling fan wicked97 Electrical 4 08-21-2011 09:12 AM
convert 3 wire range junction box to receptacle filby Electrical 0 06-05-2011 02:33 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 04:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts