Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-29-2009, 06:06 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: georgia
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

help w/ voltage meter


I am trying to find out why a light isn't working (either switch or fixture) Where do I touch red prong, black prong on my voltage meter? Black wire, white, ground?? Thanks

ugabulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 06:15 PM   #2
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 518
Rewards Points: 502
Default

help w/ voltage meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by ugabulldog View Post
I am trying to find out why a light isn't working (either switch or fixture) Where do I touch red prong, black prong on my voltage meter? Black wire, white, ground?? Thanks
Touch one probe on the black and one on the white. If there is voltage, the meter will show it. The black is hot, and the white is the 'neutral.' A current should register if you touch a probe to the black and one to the ground, but that just means the circuit is properly grounded. The ground wire is NEVER supposed to carry current except when there is a short somewhere, then the current flowing through the ground trips the breaker.

Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 07:28 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

help w/ voltage meter


Depending on what kind of meter you have, you may see
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phantom_voltage
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 07:50 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,965
Rewards Points: 2,026
Default

help w/ voltage meter


For household power voltage measurements set the meter to at least 240 volts AC. (If you are sure you will be testing only 120 volt circuits then set the meter to at least 120 volts AC)

It does not matter which terminal or location you touch the red probe to.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 08:46 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: georgia
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

help w/ voltage meter


thanks for the replies, however I am still confused..... touch black probe to the ??? wire, and red probe to the ??? wire. (I know black wire is hot, green/bare is ground and white is neutral)
ugabulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 08:55 PM   #6
Tired & Dirty
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: East Central Illinois
Posts: 80
Rewards Points: 75
Default

help w/ voltage meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by ugabulldog View Post
thanks for the replies, however I am still confused..... touch black probe to the ??? wire, and red probe to the ??? wire. (I know black wire is hot, green/bare is ground and white is neutral)

Black probe to neutral or ground, red probe to hot (black or red hopefully) wire. White is usually neutral but on a switch it could be the switch leg to lite fixture.
evapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 11:06 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

help w/ voltage meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by ugabulldog View Post
thanks for the replies, however I am still confused..... touch black probe to the ??? wire, and red probe to the ??? wire. (I know black wire is hot, green/bare is ground and white is neutral)
It doesn't matter which probe you touch to which wire. Pick a color any color, it will work just the same. The little Neon inside your tester won't know the difference. Its just like a light bulb, it can be wired backwards and it will still work.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 09:44 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 272
Rewards Points: 250
Default

help w/ voltage meter


The critical thing to remember is that a multimeter measures voltage potential between the two probes when reading voltage. This means that it reads the voltage difference between the two probes.

You gotta remember this, because if you touch both probes to wires that happen to be both hot and on the same phase, your meter will read very little or nothing, when you actually have 120V present. Again, it reads this because it is reading the voltage difference between the two probes.

For example, if you put your meter leads on the two terminals of a light switch that has power and is turned ON, your meter will show near or at 0 volts, but you have 120V present on both terminals.

__________________
Willis
williswires is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tiny elbows on meter? pcampbell HVAC 24 10-06-2009 09:54 AM
Water meter aggravations KE2KB Plumbing 8 03-21-2009 06:53 AM
Frozen water meter stubborn1 Plumbing 5 01-26-2009 06:35 AM
Low voltage box question WShawn Electrical 7 08-19-2008 06:22 AM
2 - 900w tansformers on a 15A circuit? tonyBagadonuts Electrical 19 07-20-2008 07:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.