Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-23-2010, 11:40 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 19
Share |
Default

Help with Two Switches & Two Lights


Here's pictures of how it is right now.
Attached Thumbnails
Help with Two Switches & Two Lights-imag0002.jpg   Help with Two Switches & Two Lights-imag0003.jpg   Help with Two Switches & Two Lights-imag0004.jpg   Help with Two Switches & Two Lights-imag0005.jpg   Help with Two Switches & Two Lights-imag0006.jpg  

Help with Two Switches & Two Lights-imag0350.jpg  

simplyphp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 11:51 PM   #17
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Help with Two Switches & Two Lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by simplyphp View Post
The way you described sounds like how I have it right now, one of the black wires is on the Line, as well as the black wire on the right (part of the Red/Black/Ground set).

So instead of having both of those on the line, do I need to pigtail those 2 together, and then run a wire from the pigtail to the line?
From your photos it does look like the correct setup. The line terminals on the same switch should be connected, so putting the 2 blacks on the 2 line terminals or pig tailing them and connecting the pig tail should accomplish the exact same thing.

Are you sure that you have the correct black wires hooked up to the terminals now?

Does the bath only work when the switch is on? Does the hall way stay on now? Could you review which part is / is not working now that the wiring is at this point. You should be very close to having this working.

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 11:58 PM   #18
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Help with Two Switches & Two Lights


If this still isn't working...

Do you have a meter with a continuity tester on it? If not, they are in expensive. What the next step I would do is to un hook all the wires in these boxes and in the fixtures. Verify the power is dead to all of it. Start one at a time, connect a white and a black wire in one box, and check if there is continuity from another box, this will allow you to figure out exactly where everything is coming from and going to.

Hopefully those 2 black wires are just reversed at this point...

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 12:14 AM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 19
Default

Help with Two Switches & Two Lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
If this still isn't working...

Do you have a meter with a continuity tester on it? If not, they are in expensive. What the next step I would do is to un hook all the wires in these boxes and in the fixtures. Verify the power is dead to all of it. Start one at a time, connect a white and a black wire in one box, and check if there is continuity from another box, this will allow you to figure out exactly where everything is coming from and going to.

Hopefully those 2 black wires are just reversed at this point...

Jamie
Don't have a meter.

When I switch the black wires around, I get nothing. So I'm sure I have the right black one on the line.
simplyphp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 12:22 AM   #20
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Help with Two Switches & Two Lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by simplyphp View Post
Don't have a meter.

When I switch the black wires around, I get nothing. So I'm sure I have the right black one on the line.
Is the switch still turning off the hall / closet and bathroom now?

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 12:39 AM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 19
Default

Help with Two Switches & Two Lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
Is the switch still turning off the hall / closet and bathroom now?

Jamie
The way it was in the photos, yes it was.



Now I tried something new, to see if I could make any more progress/learn anything else. I put all 3 black wires together, and attached them to a single copper wire and attached one end of that wire to the line screw, and the other end to the load screw.

I'm now able to independently control the bathroom and closet light switches, HOWEVER neither of the switches do anything now.. the hall light is permanently on.
simplyphp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 12:43 AM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 19
Default

Help with Two Switches & Two Lights


Ok, I went to the farthest switch and I separated the two black wires (I had tied them together with a red cap).

Now the hall light doesn't come on at all, BUT the bathroom and closet still work fine independently.

Quote:
Originally Posted by simplyphp View Post
The way it was in the photos, yes it was.



Now I tried something new, to see if I could make any more progress/learn anything else. I put all 3 black wires together, and attached them to a single copper wire and attached one end of that wire to the line screw, and the other end to the load screw.

I'm now able to independently control the bathroom and closet light switches, HOWEVER neither of the switches do anything now.. the hall light is permanently on.
simplyphp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 07:21 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 768
Default

Help with Two Switches & Two Lights


I have attached a diagram depicting how I see it should be, based on my own assumptions. Of course, my preference would be to confirm my assumptions (confirming which is supply, traveler, load) with a volt/ohm meter, but I guess this is not an option here.

I am hoping that the rest of you can look at this and critique.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Wiring.pdf (68.1 KB, 52 views)
oberkc is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to oberkc For This Useful Post:
simplyphp (11-24-2010)
Old 11-24-2010, 08:18 AM   #24
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Help with Two Switches & Two Lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by simplyphp View Post
Ok, I went to the farthest switch and I separated the two black wires (I had tied them together with a red cap).

Now the hall light doesn't come on at all, BUT the bathroom and closet still work fine independently.
The hall light is what you want on the new switch correct?

So now the black wires are just disconnected and that made the bathroom and closet work?

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 08:42 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 768
Default

Help with Two Switches & Two Lights


jamie,

any thoughts on the diagram I posted? It sounds to me as if there is some confusion about which wire goes to the light, which goes to the bath/closet, and which is supply.

My guess is that the box with three wires includes the supply (2-conductor), feed to bath/closet (other 2-conductor), and connection to other switch box (3-conductor).

The box with two wires includes the feed to the hall lights (2-conductor) and the connection from the other switch box (3-conductor).
oberkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 09:40 AM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 19
Default

Help with Two Switches & Two Lights


Ok guys, I got it all working - except the farthest switch. What I did is, on the Load I put the black wire from the red/black/ground. Then, on the LINE, I put the other 2 black wires.

The hall lights work, the bathroom light works, and the closet light works.

I'm "ok" with the farthest switch not working, but my wife isn't I'm guessing it's because the auxiliary one only takes Neutral and Traveler, but there's the two blacks, the red traveler, and neutral. So I think I'm going to need to go to Lowes and get another switch similar to the one that's working right now, just without the Z-Wave.

Also, the hall lights have those swirl energy saver bulbs in them. Whenever the light is OFF, one of the lights "blinks" every 5-10 seconds. It's not coming on full power, just a slight flicker. Any ideas on that? Maybe it'll fix itself when I put a proper switch on the one thats not working?
simplyphp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 10:09 AM   #27
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Help with Two Switches & Two Lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by oberkc View Post
jamie,

any thoughts on the diagram I posted? It sounds to me as if there is some confusion about which wire goes to the light, which goes to the bath/closet, and which is supply.

My guess is that the box with three wires includes the supply (2-conductor), feed to bath/closet (other 2-conductor), and connection to other switch box (3-conductor).

The box with two wires includes the feed to the hall lights (2-conductor) and the connection from the other switch box (3-conductor).
Nice diagram you drew up, Thanks. Yes, that is how it looks to me that it should be wired up.

It sounds like he got everything working except for that second switch.

Thanks
Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 10:12 AM   #28
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Help with Two Switches & Two Lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by simplyphp View Post
Ok guys, I got it all working - except the farthest switch. What I did is, on the Load I put the black wire from the red/black/ground. Then, on the LINE, I put the other 2 black wires.

The hall lights work, the bathroom light works, and the closet light works.

I'm "ok" with the farthest switch not working, but my wife isn't I'm guessing it's because the auxiliary one only takes Neutral and Traveler, but there's the two blacks, the red traveler, and neutral. So I think I'm going to need to go to Lowes and get another switch similar to the one that's working right now, just without the Z-Wave.

Also, the hall lights have those swirl energy saver bulbs in them. Whenever the light is OFF, one of the lights "blinks" every 5-10 seconds. It's not coming on full power, just a slight flicker. Any ideas on that? Maybe it'll fix itself when I put a proper switch on the one thats not working?
Have you tried connecting the Neutral and traveler to the second farthest switch and just leaving the blacks alone in that box?

As to the light blinking, that is very odd, If it is off at the switch, I don't know how it could be getting power to blink or flicker. Does this keep happening even after the light has been off for a while?

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jamiedolan For This Useful Post:
simplyphp (11-24-2010)
Old 11-24-2010, 10:43 AM   #29
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 19
Default

Help with Two Switches & Two Lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
The hall light is what you want on the new switch correct?

So now the black wires are just disconnected and that made the bathroom and closet work?

Jamie
On the farthest away switch, I went back to using the standard switch that was there before, and I put the red traveler top left, the traveling black wire top right, and the lights black wire bottom right.

The switch may be broken, or it's just not working - I plan to go to Lowes and pick up a replacement switch today and play around with it some more I guess.

According to the diagram, that is exactly how I had the 45610 wired up, and the problem I was getting was the hall light was permanently on.
simplyphp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 10:49 AM   #30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 19
Default

Help with Two Switches & Two Lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
Have you tried connecting the Neutral and traveler to the second farthest switch and just leaving the blacks alone in that box?

As to the light blinking, that is very odd, If it is off at the switch, I don't know how it could be getting power to blink or flicker. Does this keep happening even after the light has been off for a while?

Jamie
1) Yes, but if the two black wires are separated and not attached to anything, the hall lights do not receive power at all.

2) Yeah, I thought so as well. I'm hoping it will go away when I get a new switch and attach a neutral to it? Again though, the switch might be broken, I wasn't exactly gentle with it so who knows..

And yes it will keep happening every few seconds indefinitely.

simplyphp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3-way switches, lights, and a photoelectric switch. Your thoughts? Fox Electrical 7 11-23-2010 10:08 AM
2 Lights & 3 switches, doesn't look right curious1 Electrical 1 10-26-2010 10:26 PM
Question about wiring and voltage with switches and lights rswurth Electrical 17 06-20-2010 11:12 PM
Two switches between power and lights HooKooDooKu Electrical 4 04-19-2010 04:14 PM
Multiple lights and switches on one circuit Straightgrain Electrical 5 03-31-2009 07:34 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.