HELP!!!!! Two 3way Dimmers To 3 Lights - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2009, 11:37 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Question

HELP!!!!! Two 3way dimmers to 3 lights


Hey guys. I have a problem hoping someone could help me with. I understand how to run 2 3-way switches to 1 light, but am a little confused on how to run it to multiple lights. Here is a quick little Diagram I drew up on MSPaint. Sorry it's so lame, but it should give you guys a better idea.

S1 is the first dimmer switch, the one I would run direct power from the box too. S2 is my second dimmer switch. L1,L2, and L3 are the lights I need to wire.

Oh Yeah. The switches are all 15 amp, I have 14-2 wire to run from the box, and 14-3 wire to run from the switches to the lights.

Any advice would be great. Videos or diagrams would earn bonus points, but anything will help. Thanks a lot guys. I appreciate it.

Gregg

Advertisement

eli622 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 11:42 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

HELP!!!!! Two 3way dimmers to 3 lights


3-Way dimmer switch


Is this my answer????

Advertisement

eli622 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 11:42 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

HELP!!!!! Two 3way dimmers to 3 lights


The easist way is to run 14/3 between the switches and 14/2 from one switch to the lights.

Follow this post.
3-Way dimmer switch
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 08:33 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

HELP!!!!! Two 3way dimmers to 3 lights


A three way dimmer kit consists of a light control module and a remote control module, both of which require a neutral. (The terms master and slave are also used although it is actually ambiguous as to which module is really the slave.)

Run 3 wire cable between the two switches.

Run the power feed to one of the switches.

Connect up the various lights using 2 wire cable.

Run one 2 wire cable from a light box to a switch box. Put the light control module in this box.

(for those eavesdropping) If you must connect the power feed to a light box, you must run 3 wire cable from that point to eventually get to a switch box while any remaining light fixtures can still be wired using 2 wire cable. It is still best to connect the two switch boxes to each other using a (3 wire) cable that does not go through light boxes.

Because neutral is needed and used in every box, the simple rule of connecting all whites together applies.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 09-23-2009 at 08:45 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 08:37 AM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,377
Rewards Points: 3,548
Blog Entries: 4
Default

HELP!!!!! Two 3way dimmers to 3 lights


Choose any method you like for wiring one light and hook it up. Then run 14/2 cable from the first light to the other two.

With your layout I would probably go
power - S1 = S2 - L3 - L2 - L1
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 06:57 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

HELP!!!!! Two 3way dimmers to 3 lights


Quote:
I understand how to run 2 3-way switches to 1 light, but am a little confused on how to run it to multiple lights
Simply run a 2 wire cable from one light to the next, and the next, and as many as you want....to a point. Then hook up the lights blk/blk, wht/wht.

It's so simple, a caveman could do it.

Advertisement

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finding underground electric wire for driveway lights. mitch21131 Electrical 25 09-24-2012 09:52 AM
Changing switch for lights in basement, confused on current wiring. RyanD Electrical 2 05-14-2009 09:37 PM
Adding can lights to an existing circuit TexasEd Electrical 1 06-17-2008 08:23 PM
Pot lights in a drop ceiling Howdy Electrical 3 03-14-2008 09:23 PM
recessed lighting wiring to 3way switch DIY4EVER Electrical 1 07-12-2007 02:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts