Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-23-2011, 12:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Help with timer switch


Newbie here with a little electrical experience, a little.

I have an old house with knob and tube wiring. I want to replace a timer to control the porch lights. In the box there are two single wires. One is hot and the other is the load (that runs back to the lights.) I am assuming that the common runs separately since knob and tube does not use the current romex type wiring.

I needed a common for the GE timer I am using so I fished a common and a ground wire up from the basement from an existing outlet that is in a new addition and wired to code.

I now have 4 wires in the box. I connected the hot wire to the black of the switch, the load to the red, the white common to the white common I ran into the box and the ground to the ground. The digital switch came to life, the timer is working just fine but when the lights come on they are blinking.

Is it the common that is causing the problem?


Last edited by aftermath; 11-25-2011 at 11:14 AM.
aftermath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 12:38 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,730
Default

Help with timer switch


You can not use the neutral from one circuit to power another circuit.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 12:59 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Help with timer switch


OK, thanks.

I still am confused because all the neutrals are connected together back at the service. I was under the impression that the timer part of the timer switch needed a neutral for it to operate, the light has its own.

I am replacing a mechanical timer that will not run CFLs. It is wired into this end run and worked fine for a number of years. I guess my next move is to try to find a similar timer to replace the Intermatic that I need to replace. Certainly there are some out there that allow you to wire into an end run. Any ideas?
aftermath is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Timer with override switch jimmyhopps Electrical 4 11-15-2011 07:58 PM
Changing A Double Switch to a single pole switch and a dimmer switch loydbrahn Electrical 0 11-08-2011 11:00 PM
Wiring GE Smart Digital Timer to 3 way switch. Wing Electrical 16 08-26-2010 06:22 PM
fan timer on a switch loop someguy86 Electrical 3 08-02-2010 08:05 PM
Timer switch...any ideas how it works? mcvane Electrical 5 09-28-2008 06:32 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.