Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-10-2013, 02:14 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: wright city, Missouri
Posts: 168
Share |
Default

Help with telephone lines


I have 2 phone lines one in the kitchen and the other in the master bedroom. The kitchen phone line doesn't have a signal. I checked the wiring they used cat5e the blue going to green and the white/blue going to red. So it is connected correctly.

The only phone line that works is in the master bedroom. They have 2 pairs of cat5e wires. Only one gets a signal, but the other one doesn't.

Is there a way I can locate these wires easily?

word2yamutha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 04:07 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Charles Town, WV
Posts: 81
Send a message via AIM to Rich Send a message via Yahoo to Rich
Default

Help with telephone lines


Are these the only phone jacks in the house? Did you check at the NID (the grey box on the side of the house where the wire from the phone company comes in)? Are there CAT5 wire(s) running from there into your house or something else?

My first guess if these are the only two phone jacks in the house is that the 2nd wire in the bedroom feeds the kitchen. In that case you'd just attach the blue/white pair to the red/green screws on the bedroom jack and you'd get dial tone at the kitchen.

If this is a newer home you may be looking at structured wiring in which case all the cat5 wires would be going back to a central location where they can be patched/connected to one or more phone lines coming in from the phone company box.

Rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 07:29 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: wright city, Missouri
Posts: 168
Default

Help with telephone lines


Sorry for the delayed response I was out of town for work. The wiring inside the house is cat5e not cat5. I'm not sure if this is a big deal or not. There use to be a home security system in our house, but since it was affecting are only telephone line we decided to detach it. The weird part is I can't trace the wires at all. I checked the basement and couldn't find anything.

This house is only 5 years old so I wouldn't of thought there would be so many issues. Ill check and see if the master bedroom is connected to the kitchen.

I went ahead and uploaded some pics of the box outside if that helps at all.
Attached Thumbnails
Help with telephone lines-20130418_190741.jpg   Help with telephone lines-20130418_190751.jpg  
word2yamutha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 07:38 PM   #4
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,635
Default

Help with telephone lines


Looks like you only have one line of service at the moment? Perhaps that line of service should be going to the other side of the jack in the bedroom and the kitchen is linked to the that other side?

I see white going to green and blue to red. No mixed color pair going to either.

Last edited by user1007; 04-18-2013 at 07:49 PM.
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 07:53 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: wright city, Missouri
Posts: 168
Default

Help with telephone lines


Well the good news is once I connected the 2 cat5e cables in the master bedroom I now have a dial tone in the kitchen. Why would they run a telephone line like this? Wouldn't it be better if each telephone line had its own dedicated line?

Well the plan I had in mind was to add a telephone line in each room. My problem is I don't understand how its connected to the box outside. What is the black cable sticking out with different colored wiring?

Last edited by word2yamutha; 04-18-2013 at 07:59 PM.
word2yamutha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 08:54 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,825
Default

Help with telephone lines


Quote:
Originally Posted by word2yamutha View Post
Well the good news is once I connected the 2 cat5e cables in the master bedroom I now have a dial tone in the kitchen. Why would they run a telephone line like this? Wouldn't it be better if each telephone line had its own dedicated line?

Well the plan I had in mind was to add a telephone line in each room. My problem is I don't understand how its connected to the box outside. What is the black cable sticking out with different colored wiring?
That is your phone service from the street or alley or whatever.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 05:47 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 136
Default

Help with telephone lines


Your single line phone service uses only two wires to work. You can install a hundred phones in your house. Simply connect the two wires from the new phone onto any other phone jack or junction, keeping polarity straight. No need to run clear back to the service.
al_smelter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 07:36 AM   #8
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,635
Default

Help with telephone lines


Are you confusing a phone line with a phone extension? As mentioned, within reason, you can have as many extensions using the same phone line as you want. You may pick up some static with each extension depending on the connection and the quality of the phones. Just wire from extension to extension as mentioned. When the number for that line of service rings, all the extensions will ring (unless you mute them). When you pick up the handset on any you will get a dial tone. It is a good idea to use them same colors for the wiring from extension to extension.

Each phone line requires you pay the phone company for the service and will have its own phone number. Each will also have its own pair of wires from the box on your house. Right now you only have one line of service and the white and blue wire from the bundle inside that black cable is being used. If you ever hook up the alarm system again you will need a separate phone line (although some systems are now wireless capable), not just and extension, for it. A different pair of wires will be used from that black bundle for that line of service. We used to have second or third lines for fax machines, a line for a home business, or to relieve pressure from chatty teenagers. Wireless phones and email have more or less eliminated the need for multiple lines into a home. Except for alarms.

The gray and tan wires are wires running into your home and apparently to the existing phone jack you have in the bedroom. From the bedroom an extension was wired in the kitchen. You will probably find the other end of that tan cable in a closet near where the alarm system was located. It is not hooked up at the moment.
Attached Thumbnails
Help with telephone lines-phone-jacks.jpg  

Last edited by user1007; 04-19-2013 at 08:39 AM. Reason: Added Diagram
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to user1007 For This Useful Post:
word2yamutha (04-19-2013)
Old 04-19-2013, 02:22 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: wright city, Missouri
Posts: 168
Default

Help with telephone lines


Thanks for the information guys. Yes I was getting phone extension and phone line confused. So how would I go about adding 2 extensions for the 2 bedrooms where I want to add phones too? I guess my problem is finding where to tie the wires at because I don't know where they are located.
word2yamutha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 02:53 PM   #10
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,635
Default

Help with telephone lines


Is there cat5, phone wire, etc. hiding in an outlet box behind a solid cover in those other rooms? On renovations I always ran it for future client use but there is no guarantee your place has it. If it is not there already, you will have to run wires to those rooms where you want new jacks.

Do you have a crawl space or basement? If so you can run wire from one of the existing and working jacks to the new locations under the house. You can either come up inside the wall or do like phone installers usually do and just drill a small hole through the flooring near the baseboard where you want the jack. Run the wire and then connect as shown in the diagram from the existing jack to the new one being careful to match up your colored wires to the correct terminals. Screw the jack to the baseboard and snap or screw on the cover. You can buy the hardware for the jacks at Radio Shack, hardware store, etc.

If you cannot get under the house you will have to make your wire runs along the baseboards, over door casings, etc. You should invest in a nice cable stapler to secure the wire and make for as nice looking an installation as you can. You can get wire into an adjoining room through a common wall rather than going all the way around it.
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 03:40 PM   #11
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,501
Default

Help with telephone lines


It looks like someone removed the tan cable from the terminals and killed the service to one of the jacks inside the house.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 03:43 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: wright city, Missouri
Posts: 168
Default

Help with telephone lines


Unfortunately there aren't any solid covers in any rooms. Just a thought, but do you think the cat5 cables could be located or connected in the attic? I was checking to see if there would be a hole where the main phone line would go to, but it just goes straight up to the attic from what I can tell.
word2yamutha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 04:39 PM   #13
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,635
Default

Help with telephone lines


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
It looks like someone removed the tan cable from the terminals and killed the service to one of the jacks inside the house.
As I said, my guess the tan cable and wire pairs went to the alarm which has been disabled. I guess it doesn't really matter unless there were once two lines to the jacks.

OP. The phone lines could have been run in the attic and dropped down I guess. I doesn't look like they started that high though given the picture of your service box.

Again, those rooms where you want extensions may just have never gotten wire for jacks in which case there is nothing for you to find.
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 04:55 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 594
Default

Help with telephone lines


Quote:
Originally Posted by sdsester View Post
Are you confusing a phone line with a phone extension? As mentioned, within reason, you can have as many extensions using the same phone line as you want.
... keeping REN in mind. Usually, it's 5. Add up the REN marked under each piece of equipment attached to the line. Modern phones usually have an REN below 1 now, so it's unlikely you'll hit the number. But if you do, one or more of your phones won't ring.
operagost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 05:18 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: wright city, Missouri
Posts: 168
Default

Help with telephone lines


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
It looks like someone removed the tan cable from the terminals and killed the service to one of the jacks inside the house.
The tan cable is for the home security service that we aren't using. All of the phone jacks in our house now work, but just want to add some in different rooms. The fiance isn't too happy about have the modem, router and server all in the master bedroom lol.

word2yamutha is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Install new faucet with compression fittings to larger copper supply lines cwb124 Plumbing 7 02-27-2013 04:11 PM
Connect Air Cond Drain to House Waste lines AdamOJ Plumbing 19 11-23-2011 06:47 AM
slow hot water lines sobro Plumbing 3 11-05-2010 10:44 AM
Why move/replace heat pump refrigerant lines? EdLank HVAC 1 05-09-2010 05:02 AM
2 outlets sharing a stud and also telephone jack? LeviDIY Electrical 9 09-02-2009 09:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.