Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-06-2011, 07:01 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Help splicing many conductors


Hey:

I have an old, 1850, house and a previous electrician loved to use junction boxes to update circuits. He did one in the attic, above two bedrooms, that has 8 cables spliced together. The only old, 1930's steel cable, left in this circuit feeds this box and I want to replace it. My problem is at my level, I can't splice that many wires together. I'm not coordinated enough.

So I was wondering, is it OK to take, let's say, 4 conductors, splice them with a pigtail, then take the other end of the pigtail and splice it to 4 more conductors? Is this a violation? Dumb? Is there another way?

Thank you,
Ed

whatrymes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 07:05 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,151
Rewards Points: 518
Default

Help splicing many conductors


Ed find some wire and practice a few times before trying the real thing. The secret when you have lots of wire is to strip the end as long as you can(longer the better). Line up the wires where the insulation meets the bare copper and with small slow turns twist them together.

Practice it a few times and you will get the hand of it.

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 07:09 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,968
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Help splicing many conductors


Quote:
Originally Posted by whatrymes View Post
So I was wondering, is it OK to take, let's say, 4 conductors, splice them with a pigtail, then take the other end of the pigtail and splice it to 4 more conductors? Is this a violation? Dumb? Is there another way?
Yes you can do it this way if you wish to.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 08:04 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,818
Rewards Points: 2,434
Default

Help splicing many conductors


These are available with up to 8 ports for wires.

http://www.idealindustries.com/prodD...v=0&l1=push-in
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 08:12 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 104
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Help splicing many conductors


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
These are available with up to 8 ports for wires.

http://www.idealindustries.com/prodD...v=0&l1=push-in
have you used these before? they look pretty easy to use, might use them on the reno im doin.
bryan1282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 10:17 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,818
Rewards Points: 2,434
Default

Help splicing many conductors


I have used the smaller 3 port ones and had no problems. you can look into the connector and see if it is fully inserted.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 10:30 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Help splicing many conductors


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
I have used the smaller 3 port ones and had no problems. you can look into the connector and see if it is fully inserted.
Looks real interesting. I am curious however if you feel my original thought would be OK. Not that I prefer it, seems like a lot more work, I was just wondering.
whatrymes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 10:32 PM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,818
Rewards Points: 2,434
Default

Help splicing many conductors


Nothing wrong with the pigtailing. The double wire nuts do take up a lot of room in the box.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 11:10 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 1,757
Rewards Points: 28
Default

Help splicing many conductors


I like those push in connectors. They are more money that the wire nuts but take up less space and well worth it for small jobs IMO. They sell them at Home Depot, don't know about Lowes.
Jim F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 02:28 AM   #10
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Help splicing many conductors


I have used both Americian and European verison of 6 and 8 port wireconnector and there are few spots I use them as well as Jim Port mention I know they cost little more but it worth the cost when you have limited room in there.

But either way will work fine but doubled wirenuts will take more room than the 6 or 8 ports verison will take up and few case I can use much larger wire nut like grey or big bleu one depending on conductor size and numbers of them.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 03:01 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 61
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Help splicing many conductors


Those push in connector look interesting, how to remove the wire(s) from those connectors?
quincy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 10:07 PM   #12
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Help splicing many conductors


Quote:
Originally Posted by quincy View Post
Those push in connector look interesting, how to remove the wire(s) from those connectors?
There is two ways to do it depending on which type of connector you used them one way is put a pulling tenstion and twist it back and forth it will creep out or some will have very small opening you stick a small screwdriver or other types of means to relase the clip then slide the conductor out.

that is two most common way.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
quincy (04-08-2011)
Old 04-10-2011, 12:36 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Help splicing many conductors


I've found the secret of life! Ideal In-Sure wire connectors. Man, was that easy!

whatrymes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Marking buried cable a7ecorsair Electrical 15 07-20-2010 01:27 AM
non current carrying conductors davidbp Electrical 14 05-09-2010 11:09 PM
12-2 wire that is actualy 14-2 Mike Dolton Electrical 96 04-22-2010 02:07 PM
Splicing on 6 gauge wire paxprobellum Electrical 58 08-29-2009 02:22 AM
What size SE conductors J. Voorhees Electrical 22 04-02-2008 10:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.