Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-05-2011, 08:49 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 135
Share |
Default

Help sizing subpanel


I've got about 95 amps in total breaker size in the subpanel. Nothing more than 20 amps. Can I size this at 40 amps?

wease is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 09:18 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 440
Default

Help sizing subpanel


breaker size doesn't count.load is based on device/appliance load calc's.depending on what you are running,40 amp should be ok.

oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 09:34 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 135
Default

Help sizing subpanel


Thanks for the reply.

I have 2 kitchen outlet circuits, a dishwasher/disposal circuit, light circuit, and refrig circuit. Forgot I also have a bath gfi circuit. Add 20 amps to that.
wease is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 11:34 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 440
Default

Help sizing subpanel


if not wired yet might just go with 50 amp.
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 11:53 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 135
Default

Help sizing subpanel


I believe I would need 6 gauge wire for 50 amp. I could move and reuse an existing 8 gauge wire which would help my cause. Just wondering what the inspector will require for this kind of load.
wease is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 12:28 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 440
Default

Help sizing subpanel


if you have a total load of 60 amps,if ballanced between the two phases you will only have 30 amps on each leg so 40 will be good.you need 2 hots,1 neutral and one ground.

oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sizing new subpanel debiasio Electrical 5 01-31-2011 04:36 AM
Grounding a Subpanel Craigman Electrical 25 12-07-2009 07:25 PM
Problems with Square D Subpanel bltglt507 Electrical 16 12-04-2009 08:44 PM
A few slightly different questions on subpanel wiring. Chris Dopp Electrical 8 06-26-2009 09:45 PM
Another subpanel question:) primal65 Electrical 15 06-22-2008 09:43 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.