Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-10-2013, 03:58 PM   #1
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,725
Share |
Default

Help with rewiring a switch for vacuum cleaner


I have an old filter queen vacuum cleaner that needs a new switch.
Would anyone be able to help me with wiring it up?

The switch has one wire, the motor has 2 black wires, and the electrical plus has a white and a black.

I did wire my lights when I renovated the basement but I forgot.....lol
I have a thought on how I should do it, but don't really know for sure.

Thank you so much all you wonderful people.



Help with rewiring a switch for vacuum cleaner-img_1184.jpg

__________________
http://diyitnow.blogspot.com
yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 04:13 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,252
Default

Help with rewiring a switch for vacuum cleaner


the switch should have wire in and out..? motor---one wire to white on cord..black from cord to switch.. other side of switch to other motor wire.. ben sr

ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 05:13 PM   #3
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,725
Default

Help with rewiring a switch for vacuum cleaner


Thanks for your response. The switch only has one wire. It is an on and off switch that has a little pedal.

Thanks for your wiring advice. I will try tomorrow when I get the new switch.
__________________
http://diyitnow.blogspot.com
yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 07:22 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,364
Default

Help with rewiring a switch for vacuum cleaner


There should be two wires on the switch !
Look carefully ! is there another one ?
where does it go ?
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dmxtothemax For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (11-10-2013)
Old 11-10-2013, 08:08 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,374
Default

Help with rewiring a switch for vacuum cleaner


A switch has to have two wires. One for power in and one for switched power out.
One of the switch wires goes to the black from the power cable. The other one goes to the motor.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (11-10-2013)
Old 11-10-2013, 09:40 PM   #6
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,725
Default

Help with rewiring a switch for vacuum cleaner


Thanks for all your help.

Unless I am off my rocker, which is always a possibility..... the switch only has one wire. I have attached a picture of the switch. It is the old one. I have seen the new switch and it looks exactly the same, only one wire.

Do I need to put two wires together somehow somewhere?
Thanks

Help with rewiring a switch for vacuum cleaner-img_1185.jpg

Help with rewiring a switch for vacuum cleaner-img_1186.jpg

Help with rewiring a switch for vacuum cleaner-img_1187.jpg
__________________
http://diyitnow.blogspot.com
yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 10:11 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,364
Default

Help with rewiring a switch for vacuum cleaner


[QUOTE=yummy mummy;1265138]Thanks for all your help.





Attachment 77761

That switch is broken, you can see on the left side.
Thats where the other wire should have been !
Your new switch should have two connecttions on it,
Usually one at each end.
Look carefully at both ends.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 10:42 PM   #8
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,725
Default

Help with rewiring a switch for vacuum cleaner


Yes, that switch is broken because I tried to pry it open as I saw a you tube video showing that you can repair the switch that is why it looks broken, but I have been to the store and seen the new switch and it only has one wire.

The switch was connected but I removed it, and don't remember how to put it back, so I wanted to find out before I purchase the new one.
The new one only has one wire. The button on top opens the vacuum cleaner and closes it.
__________________
http://diyitnow.blogspot.com
yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 11:21 PM   #9
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,725
Default

Help with rewiring a switch for vacuum cleaner


dmx, I just ripped open that switch......

It does look like there should be another wire on the other end. What the hell did I do with it.....lol OMG now I am really confused.

I am certain that the new switch that I saw at the vacuum store only has one wire. It probably had 9, but with my old age and my apparent memory loss, who remembers.

Ok, I will go and look again tomorrow to see the new switch, it better have 2 wires. What would I do without you guys here to help me. Love you guys and gals
__________________
http://diyitnow.blogspot.com
yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 02:07 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,364
Default

Help with rewiring a switch for vacuum cleaner


The wires are normally held in place by a small grub screw,
If it's loose, the wire can easily fall out,
Thats probably why there's only one wire in your new switch,
The other has probably fallen out.
You will need good eye's,
a small screw driver,
plus some more wire to fix it !

Last edited by dmxtothemax; 11-11-2013 at 04:12 PM.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 07:16 AM   #11
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,725
Default

Help with rewiring a switch for vacuum cleaner


Thank dmx for your help.

I don't have the new switch, I just saw it at the store. I am going to go and see today.
__________________
http://diyitnow.blogspot.com
yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 09:05 AM   #12
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,374
Default

Help with rewiring a switch for vacuum cleaner


When you get the new switch with two wires this is your connections.
One motor wire goes to the white power wire.
The other motor wire goes one switch wire.
The other switch wire goes to the black power wire.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 12:27 PM   #13
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,725
Default

Help with rewiring a switch for vacuum cleaner


Well, people, I have officially declared myself with temporary memory loss.....lol

The switch has two wires. I apologize to all for my lack of memory.....

I just picked up the switch and will follow your wonderful instructions on how to wire it.

Thanks again.
What would I do without this place.

__________________
http://diyitnow.blogspot.com
yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yummy mummy For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (11-13-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
taco sr503-4 switch jmon HVAC 53 11-12-2012 06:26 PM
3-way switch help amit Electrical 17 02-15-2010 03:17 PM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 07:11 AM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 06:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.