Help Rewiring 220V 3-prong Outlet To 4-prong Grounded Outlet - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2012, 06:25 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help rewiring 220V 3-prong outlet to 4-prong grounded outlet


Just moved into a new apartment, and found that all outlets in the unit are on a single 20A breaker. I will be getting a sizeable AC unit soon and I know I have enough other stuff that draws outlet power that I am going to end up tripping that 20A breaker frequently in the summer. So I looked around and turns out the electric range in the kitchen is on a 3-prong 220V outlet, wired to a two-pole 40A breaker in the panel. This is way more power than I will ever draw with the range, so it makes sense to me to try to get a 220v AC and run it on this line to alleviate the 20A breaker on the outlets.

But I did some research, and yes I know it is not safe to "split" a 3-prong outlet since there is no ground, so I'm wondering what's involved with converting the outlet itself into a 4-prong, grounded outlet, and then using a 4-prong to 3-prong splitter cable like this one: http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/p...09948312782216

Is it as simple as adding a ground and rewiring to a new 4-prong outlet? If so, can I ground the 4-prong outlet to the ground wire of a nearby 120v grounded outlet?

Other than the electricity problem the apartment is great! So I'm really hoping to do this the right(safe) way.

Thanks so much for any advice!
M

Edit: I turned off the breaker and unscrewed the 3-prong outlet to see the state of affairs there - turns out there is already a ground wire in the outlet box but it is of course not connected to anything. So if I switch this to a 4-prong outlet can I then split it safely?

Advertisement


Last edited by madmaxwell; 03-23-2012 at 06:39 AM.
madmaxwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 06:34 AM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,241
Rewards Points: 2,392
Default

Help rewiring 220V 3-prong outlet to 4-prong grounded outlet


You should not be doing electrical work in rental property. Get the landlord to resolve electrical issues.
You cannot split and share a range circuit.

Advertisement

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 06:44 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help rewiring 220V 3-prong outlet to 4-prong grounded outlet


Thanks for your reply. My landlord has been unresponsive to this issue - he owns several large buildings and seems to have a laizzez faire approach to repairs, in that nothing is fixed unless its truly broken, and in this case nothing is broken, just insufficient.

Could you elaborate as to why a range circuit cannot be shared?

Thank you!
madmaxwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 06:45 AM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Help rewiring 220V 3-prong outlet to 4-prong grounded outlet


This is most definitely NOT the right way to do it.

1) Ranges are on 2P 40 Amp circuits for a reason...because the calculated load of said range calls for 40 Amps at 240 V.

2) The cord end of a 240V AC unit will be a MUCH different configuration than the ranges cord end. There is no way it would fit.

3) (I'm assuming here) The AC would be a distance away from the range you would have get (make) and extension cord just to plug it it. Now you have created a trip hazard.

4) You are jury rigging electric on someone else's property. I'm sure the owner and his insurance company wouldn't be very happy with that.

In your situation, I would contact the rental agency or landlord. Many apartments I have dealt with are done in pipe, so it may be possible to get a circuit from the panel to the general area of where you need it for the AC.

Last edited by k_buz; 03-23-2012 at 06:46 AM. Reason: was typing this before the responses
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 06:51 AM   #5
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,817
Rewards Points: 2,308
Default

Help rewiring 220V 3-prong outlet to 4-prong grounded outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by madmaxwell View Post
My landlord has been unresponsive to this issue...
1) this is not a DIY issue and (fwiw) will likely crop up again in other aspects.
(be prepared to deal with this issue on it's own terms)
2) tenants are NEVER allowed to modify electrical systems.
(even tenants who know the what and how without asking)

Quote:
...nothing is fixed unless its truly broken,
and in this case nothing is broken, just insufficient.
Exactly correct.
Unless the lease prohibits the use of room air conditioners go ahead and get one (or two) of the correct size for your need
and then... if/when you do have a problem you contact the LL to remedy the PROBLEM.

Quote:
Could you elaborate as to why a range circuit cannot be shared?
It isn't a question of can (or not)... but HOW to do this correctly.
The wire you have feeding that outlet is insufficient.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 06:57 AM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Help rewiring 220V 3-prong outlet to 4-prong grounded outlet


I'll add a 2b to my above post.

You won't find a 240V 40Amp window AC. Most residential central air units are rated 30 A 240 V and below. Putting any AC on a circuit it isn't rated for is illegal and dangerous. It becomes a fire hazard. If your new AC is rated for a 20 Amp circuit and you put it on a 40, you could have up to 40 A running thru wire rated for 20 A, melt the conductors and start a fire.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 07:01 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help rewiring 220V 3-prong outlet to 4-prong grounded outlet


Thanks for the advice, guys! Looks like this isn't the right way to go about it. I'll contact the landlord again and see if I can just get a new breaker installed and wired to a dedicated outlet for the A/C. Probably will make me pay for the work though :facepalm:
madmaxwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 07:37 AM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Help rewiring 220V 3-prong outlet to 4-prong grounded outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by madmaxwell View Post
Thanks for the advice, guys! Looks like this isn't the right way to go about it. I'll contact the landlord again and see if I can just get a new breaker installed and wired to a dedicated outlet for the A/C. Probably will make me pay for the work though :facepalm:

Much better than being responsible for damage or death!

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing 2 Prong To 3 Prong Outlet JAVAMAN Electrical 38 12-02-2012 07:32 AM
European 220v Tools use with US 220v Outlet dominator Electrical 20 08-03-2012 12:21 AM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM
Help on installing a 220v outlet BobRankin Electrical 24 10-23-2007 06:32 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 09:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts