Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-24-2013, 01:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

Help with rewireing basement


I have attached a file it is of my basement electrical / light outlets.
I was wondering how many wires i would need to run from the fuse box, and , also how many electric sockets i can connect to 12 gauge wire going into the fuse box.
Thank you for any help
Paul
Attached Thumbnails
Help with rewireing basement-electric.wall.1.000.gif  


Last edited by Artamist; 01-24-2013 at 03:02 PM.
Artamist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 01:51 PM   #2
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,605
Default

Help with rewireing basement


Posting your location will help. There is no limit to the number of receptacles on a general lighting circuit. You need one 15A circuit for every 600 sq ft of living space or, one 20A gen lighting circuit for every 800 sq ft.

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to electures For This Useful Post:
Artamist (01-24-2013)
Old 01-24-2013, 02:05 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Help with rewireing basement


Live in Illinois
Artamist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 02:46 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,365
Default

Help with rewireing basement


Then you might need to run it all in conduit. What part of Illinois?
It also depends on what you intend to plug into the receptacles. Any place you might use a heater should have less devices on the circuit. The TV location would be a good idea to be on separate circuit although not required.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
Artamist (01-24-2013)
Old 01-24-2013, 02:51 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Help with rewireing basement


Litchfield illinois..
Thank you for the information... also should i run the refridge on one line,or can i connect a few lights and electric sockets to the same line?
Artamist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 03:04 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Help with rewireing basement


Do you think these wires look ok?
Artamist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 03:13 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Help with rewireing basement


You may also need afci breakers and smoke detectors.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 03:47 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Help with rewireing basement


I thought i could maybe rewire my basement like the picture shows?
Artamist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 08:13 PM   #9
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,605
Default

Help with rewireing basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by Artamist View Post
I thought i could maybe rewire my basement like the picture shows?
Eliminate the unnecessary JB's.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 08:58 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Help with rewireing basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
Eliminate the unnecessary JB's.
Im sorry but what are JB's ?
Artamist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 09:23 PM   #11
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,365
Default

Help with rewireing basement


Junction Boxes.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 06:30 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Help with rewireing basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Junction Boxes.

Ok, Junction boxes,, how many wires can you have going into one junction box?
Thanks
Artamist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 07:25 AM   #13
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,365
Default

Help with rewireing basement


Depends on the size of the wire and the size of the junction box. There is a calculation call 'box fill' that needs to be done.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 07:33 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,863
Default

Help with rewireing basement


Not to be rude, but your posts suggest to me that you have little or no knowledge of electricity or wiring. If that is the case, please don't even attempt this project until you do some studying. There is an excellent little book called "Wiring Simplified" that will greatly help you. It's sold in most big box stores, and is in the Electrical section, not where the other books are. Costs something like $12.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to md2lgyk For This Useful Post:
Artamist (01-25-2013)
Old 01-25-2013, 08:06 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Help with rewireing basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by md2lgyk View Post
Not to be rude, but your posts suggest to me that you have little or no knowledge of electricity or wiring. If that is the case, please don't even attempt this project until you do some studying. There is an excellent little book called "Wiring Simplified" that will greatly help you. It's sold in most big box stores, and is in the Electrical section, not where the other books are. Costs something like $12.
Yes very little knowledge of electricity and wiring, i will get the book thank you

Artamist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement sewer smell jturk1000 Plumbing 1 09-20-2011 12:59 PM
Wet basement - don't know where to start konradsa Building & Construction 17 09-20-2011 10:08 AM
Remodeling basement: Moist foundation gordonf238 Building & Construction 8 04-25-2010 06:50 PM
Basement Renovation Project Howdy Electrical 6 03-13-2008 11:07 AM
Basement - need to bust up about 1 ft deeper FallenAngel Building & Construction 7 08-15-2007 09:09 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.