Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-28-2012, 08:44 PM   #16
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Share |
Default

Help Requested for Changing Double Switch to Two Singles


They make 3 way dimmer switches. Not sure if this is what you are asking.

TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 09:09 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Woodland Park, CO
Posts: 15
Default

Help Requested for Changing Double Switch to Two Singles


Quote:
Originally Posted by TTW View Post
They make 3 way dimmer switches. Not sure if this is what you are asking.
Sorry my question was unclear. What I'm asking is whether I can add one of the lights now controlled by one of the single switches (see Hammerlane's diagram I've reproduced here) to the existing three way switch in the same box.
Attached Thumbnails
Help Requested for Changing Double Switch to Two Singles-diagram.jpg  
eddj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 09:12 PM   #18
Member
 
JuzRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: SC
Posts: 132
Default

Help Requested for Changing Double Switch to Two Singles


Quote:
Originally Posted by TTW View Post
They make 3 way dimmer switches. Not sure if this is what you are asking.

TTW: A possibility OP maybe asking also as an option, if using one of the existing switch legs as a traveler to tying onto both switches formatting it as a 3 conductor. But he would still need that additional conductor.

Your hot then, lamp and traveler.
JuzRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 09:18 PM   #19
Member
 
JuzRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: SC
Posts: 132
Default

Help Requested for Changing Double Switch to Two Singles


Quote:
Originally Posted by eddj View Post
Sorry my question was unclear. What I'm asking is whether I can add one of the lights now controlled by one of the single switches (see Hammerlane's diagram I've reproduced here) to the existing three way switch in the same box.
Eddj: I see it as being possible depending on how its run now.. as for the lights setup. You could be short a couple feet of wire. 14-3 conductor is required, code that is for 3-4, way purposes.

Don't want to steer you in the wrong direction either- but it can be done.
JuzRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 09:41 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Woodland Park, CO
Posts: 15
Default

Help Requested for Changing Double Switch to Two Singles


Quote:
Originally Posted by JuzRick View Post
Eddj: I see it as being possible depending on how its run now.. as for the lights setup. You could be short a couple feet of wire. 14-3 conductor is required, code that is for 3-4, way purposes.

Don't want to steer you in the wrong direction either- but it can be done.
Does the additional wiring have to take place AT THE LIGHT itself or can it happen IN THE BOX where the switches are. If I have to change the wiring at the lights, I would need to do some work in my attic which I'm not up for right now.

Here's the diagram with the switch leg and connections to the 3 way labeled.

Thanks for your help.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Diagram2.pdf (69.2 KB, 21 views)
eddj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 12:41 AM   #21
Member
 
JuzRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: SC
Posts: 132
Default

Help Requested for Changing Double Switch to Two Singles


Quote:
Originally Posted by eddj View Post
Does the additional wiring have to take place AT THE LIGHT itself or can it happen IN THE BOX where the switches are. If I have to change the wiring at the lights, I would need to do some work in my attic which I'm not up for right now.

Here's the diagram with the switch leg and connections to the 3 way labeled.

Thanks for your help.
DEPENDING HOW THE CONDUCTORS(WIRES) ARE RAN IN THE CEILING WHERE YOUR LIGHTS ARE, DEPENDS ON HOW YOU WILL HAVE TO REROUTE THE CONDUCTORS. I WOULD SUGGEST YOU PURCHASE 14-3 FOR YOUR 3-WAY CONDUCTOR(YOUR TRAVELERS) VS TRYING TO RIG IT TO WHERE IT WILL WORK. DEPENDING ON HOW YOU COMING OFF THE LIGHT(S) ITS POSSIBLE YOU CAN USE THE SAME 14-2 CONDUCTOR CURRENTLY INSTALLED. IF TWO LIGHTS, TAKE 14-2 AND JUMP FROM THE PRIMARY LIGHT CONNECTING TO THE 2ND LIGHT.

I KNOW BACK IN THE DAYS IT WAS DONE USING 3 SETS OF 14-2 CONDUCTORS, a) ONE FULL LINE- FROM PRIMARY SWITCH BRANCHED TO THE 2ND 3-WAY SWITCH b) 2ND BLACK CONDUCTOR GOING FROM SWITCH LEG TO LIGHT, AND THEN THE 3RD BLACK AS THE TRAVELER c) SWITCH TO SWITCH(ONE ITS LEGS). BUT WE MUST KEEP IN CONSIDERATION WHY CODE IS WHAT IT IS.. AND NEC.

TO PROTECT THE WELL BEING, SAFETY OF HOMES, PEOPLE IN HOMES. DEPENDING ON THE DISTANCE OF THE 2ND 3-WAY SWITCH FROM THE PRIMARY SWITCH THAT IS IN THE BOX YOU JUST REPLACED. THE PRICE ON THE WIRE PROBABLY AT $40.00-$60.00(25'FT-50'FT ROLL), IF ANYTHING.

FORTY-SIXTY DOLLARS SPENDING ITS CHEAP COMPARED TO YOUR LIFE BEING AT STEAK. NOT SAYING YOUR NOT CAPABLE OF DOING IT.. JUST THINKING SAFETY!

3-WAY DIAGRAM USING 14-3 AND 14-2 CONDUCTORS

http://www.easy-do-it-yourself-home-...y-switch-1.jpg

Last edited by JuzRick; 11-29-2012 at 01:21 AM.
JuzRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 06:30 AM   #22
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Default

Help Requested for Changing Double Switch to Two Singles


Take a meter or tester, put one lead on the white neutral in the box, hold the other lead on the black terminal on your three way switch.

Please be careful!

then operate both 3 way switches.

If you have voltage on that black terminal when the lights are on, and the voltage turns off when the lights turn off (this is the important one), then you will be able to do what you want to do.

If that voltage stays on all the time, you will not be able to wire the other lights into the 3 way in your box.

In that case, probably the easiest thing to do will be to connect the other lights to your 3 way switched lights up in the attic.
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TTW For This Useful Post:
eddj (11-29-2012)
Old 11-29-2012, 07:52 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

Help Requested for Changing Double Switch to Two Singles


Quote:
Originally Posted by eddj View Post
What I'm asking is whether I can add one of the lights now controlled by one of the single switches to the existing three way switch in the same box.
So you would like to have say light "B" controlled by 3-way switch "E". Well then why did you want the 2 single pole switches "C" and "D"? Would you leave switch "D" in the 3-gang box and just have it non-functional?
Attached Thumbnails
Help Requested for Changing Double Switch to Two Singles-diagram.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 08:15 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

Help Requested for Changing Double Switch to Two Singles


Quote:
Originally Posted by eddj View Post
Does the additional wiring have to take place AT THE LIGHT itself or can it happen IN THE BOX where the switches are. .
If the 3-way in the 3-gang box is the 3-way where the power originates you cannot switch the other light via the 3-gang box. In other words if the set up is like the below diagram:
Attached Thumbnails
Help Requested for Changing Double Switch to Two Singles-diagram.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 08:16 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

Help Requested for Changing Double Switch to Two Singles


What you will have to do is get the switched hot from 3-way "F" to control the other light...kind of like below:

In the diagram below, switch "C" controls lite "A", switch "D" controls nothing and switches "E" and "F" control lites "B" , "G" and "H"
Attached Thumbnails
Help Requested for Changing Double Switch to Two Singles-diagram2.jpg  

Last edited by hammerlane; 11-29-2012 at 08:21 AM.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hammerlane For This Useful Post:
eddj (11-29-2012)
Old 11-29-2012, 09:02 AM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Woodland Park, CO
Posts: 15
Default

Help Requested for Changing Double Switch to Two Singles


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post
So you would like to have say light "B" controlled by 3-way switch "E". Well then why did you want the 2 single pole switches "C" and "D"? Would you leave switch "D" in the 3-gang box and just have it non-functional?
Yes, it would be non-functional. We didn't realize we would prefer all the recessed lighting on the same three way until I actually made the change. It's just more convenient having access to the lights from where the two three way switches are positioned. I learned a lot from making the switch regardless and thanks again for your help.
eddj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 10:08 AM   #27
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Woodland Park, CO
Posts: 15
Default

Help Requested for Changing Double Switch to Two Singles


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post
If the 3-way in the 3-gang box is the 3-way where the power originates you cannot switch the other light via the 3-gang box. In other words if the set up is like the below diagram:
Unfortunately, this is my situation. Power is coming into the three gang box. So I will just leave things as they are for now. Later I'm going to have to remove one of the recessed lights that is already on the three way (it is in the way of a range hood I'm going to install) and I'll see if I can hook up the wiring in the attic from this light to the light that I want to tie in. Should be possible. The lights are only about five feet from each other.
Can't tell you how much I appreciate the guidance in this forum.
eddj is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to eddj For This Useful Post:
TTW (11-29-2012)
Old 12-01-2012, 01:04 AM   #28
Member
 
JuzRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: SC
Posts: 132
Default

Help Requested for Changing Double Switch to Two Singles


Eddy: your welcome sir...

JuzRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help wiring for double switch - and why the hot white wire? BusterT Electrical 4 10-20-2012 12:37 PM
Wiring double switch for new ceiling fan toolmanwannabe Electrical 17 11-15-2011 09:34 PM
Double switch for two light bulbs Rnj Electrical 15 08-22-2010 02:37 PM
fan/light switch buzzing mjlocat Electrical 4 05-23-2010 02:44 PM
single gang single pole switch on fan fabian Electrical 14 03-05-2009 01:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.