Help Replacing T12 Ballast - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2012, 04:25 AM   #31
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,651
Rewards Points: 2,616
Default

Help replacing T12 Ballast


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
I must be lucky. My CFL bulbs in the garage are constantly being switched on and off and are base up and have lasted for years.
You mean like the 16 cans I have in my garage?



Funny.....I have the same problem....It's been 4 years.......I'm wishing now I had not stocked up on those PAR23 bulbs that Costco was selling for $4/4pk. At the rate I'm going, I'll never use them. They are warm white....I want daylight...

Advertisement

__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 02:35 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Help replacing T12 Ballast


Before you take the ballasts back, do one thing. See if they are electronic ballasts. They have to be, as no T12 96" magnetic ballasts are available. Your picture/wiring diagram is not of an electronic ballast. You need to use the drawing on the new ballast. You are looking at the wrong drawing if your new ballast is electronic.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 02:43 PM   #33
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help replacing T12 Ballast


I'm back and never checked back after kinda comming up with a solution.

I pulled the ballasts and wiring from 1 and 2 and put the newest good working ballast in #3 where I spend the majority of the time in the garage. In the attic I found about 8 new bulbs so I returned the new ones I just got back to home depot. There is another light besides ballast 3 on a different switch which uses the same T12's and a ballast in the attic that uses it but the attic is just storage.

Under now empty ballast 1 & 2 is a car is under each one of them but there are a few wall outlets around the walls that are on the circuit that turns on the power to ballast 3 so right now I have a few lamps plugged in. Baically I flip the switch and a couple lamps come on around the cars and ballast 3.

Down the road I'll modernaize 1 & 2 but with having 3 working ballasts and a small stock pile of bulbs I'm okay now.
hugocraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 03:13 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 296
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Help replacing T12 Ballast


I think that you've hit a good solution for keeping it inexpensive. I'll be modifying significantly more 4' and 8' slimline luminaires over time with some brackets and sockets that I bought. I am keeping a few going to use up the lamps. My time line may have changed significantly when I stumbled upon an open case of some prime 5000K, high CRI 8' lamps at a store for about $1.70/lamp.
ionized is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 03:27 PM   #35
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Help replacing T12 Ballast


Quote:
Originally Posted by ionized View Post
with some brackets and sockets that I bought.

Care to share where you bought those.....and how much $$..
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 03:49 PM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 296
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Help replacing T12 Ballast


I forget the rules. Am I allowed to post stuff like that in an open forum or is that a PM more appropriate?
ionized is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 04:16 PM   #37
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help replacing T12 Ballast


You are free to post what you bought since I'm curious and I started this thread

Advertisement

hugocraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New T5 Ballast causing Blinking gray0239 Electrical 3 01-05-2012 12:37 AM
T12 ballast to T8 c.bustle Electrical 5 07-10-2011 11:33 AM
Replacing Ballast rjgorman Electrical 10 06-30-2011 06:20 AM
No ballast in 48 inch fluorescent fixture. Timster Electrical 16 06-10-2010 05:02 AM
Replacing kitchen ballast jknober Electrical 5 10-12-2008 09:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts