Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-10-2008, 10:32 AM   #1
DG
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: SW UK
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help with RCD unit.


I have got a secondary CU for all of my out door wiring, which I installed as a replacement for an old fusewire type distribution board
However, when I installed it, I didn't fit a RCD, and relied on plug in, earth leakage detectors.

A recient incident has decided me that I need something more sensitive, and faster, thus the RCD.

Having got the appropriate device, I am at a loss to install it.

Will it act as a direct replacement for a double pole breaker, or is the wiring more complex?

I cannot open the house CU, to check the wiring as it is a steel case, with a security lock, (part of the lease agreement) and I can only reach the switches.

What I actually want to do, is to divide the output from the CU, so that the circuits which need the extra protection, can come off the RCD, and some sensitive security equipment on an isolation transformer, which must not be switched off, can be left safely on, even when the RCD trips.

Dubh Ghall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 11:18 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Help with RCD unit.


Let's see...

RCD = Residual Current Device - also know as GFCI or Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter?

CU = Control Unit or main electric panel?

What country are you from? (Does not say by your posting name...)

Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 12:59 PM   #3
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,048
Rewards Points: 2,066
Default

Help with RCD unit.


I can only post a diagram for an rcd installed in a consumer unit. Note that there is a dedicated neutral bar (blue wires) for all protected circuits. The rcd protects all circuits whose neutrals are connected to that terminal bar.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by Stubbie; 11-10-2008 at 01:03 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 01:23 PM   #4
DG
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: SW UK
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help with RCD unit.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Billy_Bob View Post
Let's see...

>RCD = Residual Current Device - also know as GFCI or Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter?

Yes, though rarely GFCI, over here.

>CU = Control Unit or main electric panel?

Yes, but more commonly "Consumer Unit", on this side of the puddle.

>What country are you from? (Does not say by your posting name...)
.............................................

I live in the UK.

I didn't realise that most of the denizens of this forum were in the USA, when I posted
Dubh Ghall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 01:29 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Help with RCD unit.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dubh Ghall View Post
.............................................

I live in the UK.

denizens
And nobody here knows what Perspex is.

Do you have the equivalent of a National Electric Code? If so, can you post a link? Thanks.

Some of the many UK people on this forum \/
http://www.electro-tech-online.com/
might be able to help.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 11-10-2008 at 01:37 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 02:05 PM   #6
DG
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: SW UK
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help with RCD unit.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
>I can only post a diagram for an rcd installed in a consumer unit. Note that there is a dedicated neutral bar (blue wires) for all protected circuits. The rcd protects all circuits whose neutrals are connected to that terminal bar.
Thank you Stubby, That is just what I needed.
Dubh Ghall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 02:09 PM   #7
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,048
Rewards Points: 2,066
Default

Help with RCD unit.


You are quite welcome. I hope our countries can continue to be allies after some rather difficult times. Any further questions I'll do my best to assist you but my knowledge of UK wiring methods is not expert level......
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 03:15 PM   #8
DG
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: SW UK
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help with RCD unit.


[quote=Yoyizit;182836]
>And nobody here knows what Perspex is.


Yeah. But then, the colonies always were a little behind.


>>Do you have the equivalent of a National Electric Code?

Yes, The Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers Regulations.

AKA IEE Regs.


>If so, can you post a link?

Not so easy, but here is a starting place.

...Or two.

http://www.s1learning.com/course/17t...ns-103575.html

http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/...8449/bestse-21

Otherwise, put IEE & Regulations, in Google.


>Thanks.

Sorry I can't be more help.
Dubh Ghall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 03:22 PM   #9
DG
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: SW UK
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help with RCD unit.


Some of the many UK people on this forum \/
http://www.electro-tech-online.com/
might be able to help.[/quote]

PS, Thanks for the URL.

Dubh Ghall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ruud Pack unit "KABOOMS" upon First Light Up of the Day! Wirenut2tite HVAC 18 12-15-2012 10:11 AM
Electric question from power pole to unit Slocalaman Electrical 3 11-06-2008 03:23 PM
central unit will not come on ....please help guyasc HVAC 5 08-24-2008 05:10 PM
Wall unit AC drips water inside fw2007 HVAC 4 08-15-2008 10:07 AM
Inside Unit Runs, Outside Unit Runs (with help) no cold air beakon20 HVAC 4 08-13-2008 09:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.