Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-25-2011, 02:41 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Help please easy question


I have a single switch in my kitchen and intend to get a feed from it to put in a double socket 2 meters away but going to connect it my single socket has 3 live and 3 neuteral cables already connected

My question is what is the max cable that can be connected to one socket thank for looking at this !

Tamguildshamroc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 05:07 AM   #2
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Help please easy question


If you have to many wires in a box usually you splice the wires and come off them with a pig tail. I'm guessing your talking about a plug and if it's a newer plug it should have for holes in the back as well as two screws on each side and you can hook eight wires up to it. If not your stuck with splicing it which might be a better idea for you.

dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 06:21 AM   #3
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,040
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Help please easy question


Probably a better question is how many wires will fit in the box? The electrical code specifies how much space (in cubic inches) is required for the number of conductors (wires) in the box. If you have a regular single gang box with 3 2 wire cables, the box is probably overfilled.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 07:30 AM   #4
Lic Elect/Inspector/CPO
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Help please easy question


In a 18 cu inch single gang box who are at wire fill capacity witn 12 wire but under with 14, but you are allowed to pig tail to the outlet.
NJMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 07:56 AM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,574
Rewards Points: 76
Default

Help please easy question


If this is the kitchen counter you can't tap the light circuit. The kitchen counter small appliance circuits must be receptacles only and 20 amp gfci protected.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 09:03 AM   #6
Lic Elect/Inspector/CPO
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Help please easy question


joed is correct
The kitchen counter has to be supplied by 2 small appliance circuit which can not be connected any other oulets other than gas stove, clock outlet, or dining room outlets.

NJMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
truck electrical question itin1200 Electrical 8 03-31-2011 01:58 PM
An easy question for your guys which is hard for me~ pls help~~ keifoo Electrical 9 10-05-2009 10:58 AM
easy question - PVC conduit connection to main panel tpagel Electrical 14 07-17-2009 06:50 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
Easy Drywall Question hohandy Building & Construction 10 12-16-2005 12:18 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.