Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-04-2013, 10:05 AM   #31
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Share |
Default

HELP, Please.. Do I really need this work done????


Even the power companies still use aluminum to feed most homes today because of the cost. My electric service and 200 amp sub panel work great with aluminum and we use a lot of power with a tankless water heater. Properly made connections and use of ox guard make it just as copper. Would have cost over 2,000 for CU and was 300 for AL.

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 12:01 PM   #32
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

HELP, Please.. Do I really need this work done????


Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffnc View Post
I wasn't too clear. I was trying to say that if Cu and Al did cost the same, electricians would still use Cu.



I understand, it's just not an issue. The current draw for your water heater is not near the current limit of the wire, so Al or Cu don't matter in this respect.
Tankless water heater and my all electric home can see usages very close to the wires capacity. Tankless water heater alone can draw close to 120 amps at our full usage electric hear cooking dishwasher garage with compressor welder. I am damn near capacity sometimes.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 12:12 PM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 2,371
Default

HELP, Please.. Do I really need this work done????


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
Tankless water heater alone can draw close to 120 amps
ha, sorry, thought you were trying to work a gas water heater into an electrical conversation, my bad.

Anyway, yes, of course there is no issue if the Al wire is sized correctly. But if Al and Cu cost the same, they would use Cu, because a smaller wire could carry the same current.
jeffnc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 12:37 PM   #34
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

HELP, Please.. Do I really need this work done????


Of course we would use CU if it cost the same but it don't so for large feeders to breaker panels many people use AL with no problems at all.

There is no reason to replace a perfectly good working AL feed.

For someone to suggest that AL feed needs to be replaced from those pics is crazy.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 12:41 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 2,371
Default

HELP, Please.. Do I really need this work done????


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
There is no reason to replace a perfectly good working AL feed.

For someone to suggest that AL feed needs to be replaced from those pics is crazy.
Agreed.

jeffnc is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Contractor didn't start work in CT - What recourse do I have? ControlTech Off Topic 3 09-28-2010 01:45 AM
grounding the workpiece you're welding jarnold Electrical 41 09-08-2010 07:33 AM
HVAC contractor ripoff! sekntonone HVAC 8 04-05-2008 07:15 AM
Need help with permit/city got a Stop Work Order. amdspitfire General DIY Discussions 39 02-07-2008 02:45 PM
Am I being overcharged for general construction work? baloney12 Building & Construction 2 07-11-2007 06:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.