Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-12-2007, 08:39 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

Help please- 2 questions


Can industrial electricians work on wiring in residential homes?

How do I change the AMPs in the house
exp My house AMps is 100amp how do I change to 200amp? And is industrial electricians allowed to do it?



thank you

August guo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 08:47 PM   #2
Eibwen
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 849
Default

Help please- 2 questions


In most areas an Electrician needs to be licensed for the municilpality he is working in. Assuming that, then yes he can do it.

To upgrade the service, the panel needs to be upgraded and possibly the line for the transfomer if it is undersized.

Sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 08:57 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Default

Help please- 2 questions


Thanks for your answer, can industrial electricians change the panel?
I am a certified Ontario industrial electrician, are you sure I can wire in residential house?
August guo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 09:01 PM   #4
Eibwen
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 849
Default

Help please- 2 questions


Your welcome.

Not sure on the local requirements, but check with the licensing authority and if they say its o.k. your good to go.
Sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 09:08 PM   #5
Agent 000
 
SecretSquirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 334
Default

Help please- 2 questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by August guo View Post
Thanks for your answer, can industrial electricians change the panel?
I am a certified Ontario industrial electrician, are you sure I can wire in residential house?
Not sure how they do it in Canada but here in the US you have to have an Electrical Contractors License or work for someone that has an Electrical Contractors license to perform electrical work. The person performing the work usually has to be a certified Journeyman or Master electrician. This could vary from state to state. I would suggest you talk to your local electrical inspection department and have them tell you the specific requirements.
SecretSquirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 09:17 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Default

Help please- 2 questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy View Post
In most areas an Electrician needs to be licensed for the municilpality he is working in. Assuming that, then yes he can do it.

To upgrade the service, the panel needs to be upgraded and possibly the line for the transfomer if it is undersized.
Also, do I need to upgrade the main wire that come from outside?
August guo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 09:21 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Default

Help please- 2 questions


1) It certainly does vary from area to area. In my area there are only a few places you need a license of any kind. The other places anyone can do the work. I do NOT agree with this policy but that's the way it is.
NYS is messed up as far as electrical licensing and regulation goes.

2) August, you are "a certified Ontario industrial electrician", and you have to ask the question: "How do I change the AMPs in the house"???
Are you for real?
How long have you been "a certified Ontario industrial electrician"?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 09:23 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Default

Help please- 2 questions


To answer your question. Everything from the connections at the drop, down to the meter pan, SE cables, panel and grounding need to be upgraded.

The drop from the street is typically the POCOs property.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 09:26 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Default

Help please- 2 questions


I am a newcomer to Canada, I know how to do it but I don't know if I'm allowed to do it with my license, because there is also construction electrician
August guo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2007, 08:43 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Default

Help please- 2 questions


Then whats the difference between construction electrician and electrical electrician?
August guo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2007, 08:46 PM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Default

Help please- 2 questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by August guo View Post
Then whats the difference between construction electrician and electrical electrician?
IMO nothing.
Maybe Canada has different rules/titles for who can do what type of work.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2007, 08:47 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Default

Help please- 2 questions


So Industrial electrician can do whatever electrical electrician?
August guo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2007, 09:06 PM   #13
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Default

Help please- 2 questions


Let's wait for a reply from someone who knows Canadian codes.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2007, 09:29 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Default

Help please- 2 questions


Okay, sure well anyway thanks for your help

August guo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aluminum-wired house, questions LMH Electrical 2 05-24-2009 03:06 AM
tiling questions - in middle of install mwill Flooring 8 12-11-2007 05:06 PM
some questions on masonry/cement/concrete (general q's) joeyboy Building & Construction 20 06-25-2007 08:53 PM
questions about wood shake roof oraph Roofing/Siding 4 10-26-2006 05:10 AM
Main/Sub/Garage Gen Backup Questions crecore Electrical 9 04-17-2006 06:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.