Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-12-2007, 08:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Help with outlet controlled by switch


I have an outlet in my home office where the top part of the outlet is live all
the time and the bottom part of the outlet is run off a single switch. I would
like to bypass the switch so that the outlet is live/hot all the time. The
switch has a red wire and black wire going to it as well as a bare copper wire. I assume I put the red and black wires together with a wire nut but am not sure what to do with the bare copper wire? If its not needed do I just cap it off or do I twist it together with the red and black wires? I'm not sure if the bare copper wire acts as a ground and I'm worried the outlet won't be grounded and will be a shock hazard. How do I safely bypass the switch so the outlet is hot all the time? Tks
craigpall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 08:54 PM   #2
Agent 000
 
SecretSquirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 334
Default

Help with outlet controlled by switch


Since the outlet is fed from two sources then I would feel confident that it has an appropriate ground... that is assuming that your switch only has one ground wire coming into the box. You could proceed with your idea of wire nutting the switch wires together and just stuffing the ground back into the box. If there are multiple ground wires in the box then they should have been connected together in the first place.

Your second option is at the receptacle. You could remove the wire that switches the 1/2 side of the outlet off and on and put a jumper from the side that is hot all the time to the side that was previously switched. I like that idea the best because it removes all doubt as to where the receptacle is fed from and insures that when the appropriate breaker is turned off then the outlet can be considered completely "dead".
SecretSquirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 08:08 AM   #3
ebooks com
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Default

Help with outlet controlled by switch


I know the job you asked about is most likely complete already but I thought I'd add my two cents just in case.

If you want to eliminate the switched receptacle, turn the power off to the switch first, then remove the switch, wire nut the the wires, tape the wire nuts to the wire and make sure no wire is exposed and push them back in the box, put a blank cover over the outlet box (I'd keep this outlet just in case you want to use it again) then I'd pull the receptacle out and use a test light to make sure the power is off to both the top and bottom of the receptacle, then I'd remove the receptacle and wire nut the switched wires, tape the wire nuts to the wire and make sure no wire is exposed, push them back in the box (I would not cut them just in case you want to use them again) then get a new receptacle, a good one, and install it the same way the old one came out, just reconnect the the bare ground to the green or black terminal, it is usually on the bottom of the receptacle. the white wire to the white terminal and the black to the gold terminal. If you have aluminum wiring to the receptacle, make sure you use a receptacle that is made for it, it will say on the back of the receptacle, CU/AL witch means you can use it for either copper or aluminum. If you use one for aluminum it will have all white terminals, just be sure to get the the wires under the correct terminals. If you are unsure, just pull out a few receptacles in different rooms of your house and look to see how they were wired. Again, be sure the power is off to the ones you pull out, use a test light or a table lamp, just be sure it works before you turn the power off.
Tim45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Convert an Outlet into a Switch? Geo747 Electrical 3 07-08-2007 10:23 AM
HELP I need to wire a switch to an outlet to hook up my garbage disposal r8drman69 Electrical 8 06-05-2007 10:18 PM
Tracing a Light Switch to an Outlet spam33 Electrical 17 07-24-2006 03:57 PM
Outlet controlled by switch Shardi Electrical 4 10-09-2005 06:24 PM
installing a light fixture on a switch controlled outlet Unregistered Electrical 1 02-24-2004 10:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.