HELP!!! No Power To Light Switch And Cant Find GFI's On That Circuit! - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2012, 05:06 PM   #31
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

HELP!!! No power to light switch and cant find GFI's on that circuit!


Quote:
Originally Posted by gdawg1b
. True!
Determine with a non contact voltage detector from hd

I was able to find the capped black wire from information from y'all! I started snooping and found it. When I touched it to a known hot wire the light that was the original problem came on.

Advertisement

gdawg1b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 05:08 PM   #32
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

HELP!!! No power to light switch and cant find GFI's on that circuit!


Quote:
Originally Posted by gdawg1b
. True!
I have no idea why it was capped! Also no idea why the arc! House was a foreclosure so still trying to work on stuff!
gdawg1b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 06:40 PM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,255
Rewards Points: 524
Default

HELP!!! No power to light switch and cant find GFI's on that circuit!


Quote:
Originally Posted by gdawg1b View Post
. True!
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdawg1b View Post
Determine with a non contact voltage detector from hd

I was able to find the capped black wire from information from y'all! I started snooping and found it. When I touched it to a known hot wire the light that was the original problem came on.

Pen testers have their place but in this case you need to use a volt/ohm meter to test with. The pen tester you are using can pick up induced voltage and give confusing readings.

If the closet light you mentioned is the same one that quit working (as you mentioned in post three) then you need to troubleshoot that circuit out more. Hooking this circuit into another one that had a different power source could cause serious problems.
danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 10:32 AM   #34
Retired Electrician
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

HELP!!! No power to light switch and cant find GFI's on that circuit!


Have you reset the GFCI in the bathrooms (they may have been connected improperly so even if they trip, the bathroom lights and receptacles may still work but are now tripped)

Advertisement

FLICKER is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts