Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-17-2012, 07:42 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

HELP!!! No power to light switch and cant find GFI's on that circuit!


Quote:
Originally Posted by gdawg1b

I have checked but never hurts to check again! It's in the bathroom near the weather closet so ill check that connection too! Thanks!
Actually the water closet!

gdawg1b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 01:07 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 0
Default

HELP!!! No power to light switch and cant find GFI's on that circuit!


Would appreciate advice on this! If I connect capped black wire to unused switch I have power to closet light in next room! Wondering, based on the burn marks across the switch, if that's a bad idea! Help?



HELP!!!   No power to light switch and cant find GFI's on that circuit!-image-3124720039.jpg



HELP!!!   No power to light switch and cant find GFI's on that circuit!-image-514254829.jpg



Thanks all!
gdawg1b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 02:34 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Posts: 1,847
Rewards Points: 0
Default

HELP!!! No power to light switch and cant find GFI's on that circuit!


Quote:
Originally Posted by gdawg1b View Post
If I connect capped black wire to unused switch....
Thanks all!
WHAT "unused switch"? Where is it in relation to this one? It appears that you either have two hot wires coming to this box, which is not a problem but strange, or you have one hot wire coming in, getting broken by the switch, and the hot side also goes on to another location.... or something. Clue us in on which of the three black wires are hot.
jklingel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 05:01 PM   #19
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,064
Rewards Points: 20
Default

HELP!!! No power to light switch and cant find GFI's on that circuit!


Moved to Electrical forum.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 05:07 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,498
Rewards Points: 8
Default

HELP!!! No power to light switch and cant find GFI's on that circuit!


Do not use that switch !
That black stuff is carbon !
Carbon is conductive !
Replace the switch.
It was probably disconnectted because
of the burnt out switch.
If the wires are damaged, cut them back.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 05:10 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Western PA
Posts: 203
Rewards Points: 0
Default

HELP!!! No power to light switch and cant find GFI's on that circuit!


Quote:
Originally Posted by gdawg1b View Post
... Wondering, based on the burn marks across the switch, if that's a bad idea! Help?...
Burn marks in something electrical are always a bad sign.
Dave632 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 05:42 PM   #22
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,585
Rewards Points: 4
Default

HELP!!! No power to light switch and cant find GFI's on that circuit!


It looks like a hot wire grounded out on the metal strap of the grounded switch.

Never work on energized equipment.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 05:52 PM   #23
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 0
Default

HELP!!! No power to light switch and cant find GFI's on that circuit!


gdaw,

You started a brand new thread on a continuing issue.

No-one will have any idea what you are talking about now.

Go back and put your first post here at the end of that GFCI thread you started, or you will have to start all over again what this is all about!
__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 08:35 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 0
Default

HELP!!! No power to light switch and cant find GFI's on that circuit!


Quote:
Originally Posted by TTW
gdaw,

You started a brand new thread on a continuing issue.

No-one will have any idea what you are talking about now.

Go back and put your first post here at the end of that GFCI thread you started, or you will have to start all over again what this is all about!
I'll try! iPad makes that a challenge! Good idea!
gdawg1b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 08:40 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 0
Default

HELP!!! No power to light switch and cant find GFI's on that circuit!


Quote:
Originally Posted by jklingel
WHAT "unused switch"? Where is it in relation to this one? It appears that you either have two hot wires coming to this box, which is not a problem but strange, or you have one hot wire coming in, getting broken by the switch, and the hot side also goes on to another location.... or something. Clue us in on which of the three black wires are hot.
Both of the black wires that are connected to the switch itself are hot regardless of the toggle position! The capped black wire, when uncapped and touching the upper empty screws, becomes live and powers the other closet. Strange for sure but that's why I am on here to ask those more knowledgeable!

I will change the switch for sure as someone suggested! Knew the black "burnt" looking area was not good! Thanks for verifying that!
gdawg1b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 08:41 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 0
Default

HELP!!! No power to light switch and cant find GFI's on that circuit!


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax
Do not use that switch !
That black stuff is carbon !
Carbon is conductive !
Replace the switch.
It was probably disconnectted because
of the burnt out switch.
If the wires are damaged, cut them back.
Thanks! That makes sense.

Once I change out that switch, am I okay to hook in all 3 black wires?
gdawg1b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 04:19 AM   #27
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,064
Rewards Points: 20
Default

HELP!!! No power to light switch and cant find GFI's on that circuit!


Threads merged.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
gdawg1b (12-21-2012), TTW (12-21-2012)
Old 12-21-2012, 04:47 AM   #28
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 0
Default

HELP!!! No power to light switch and cant find GFI's on that circuit!


Does this help?
Attached Images
 
__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 05:54 AM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,243
Rewards Points: 0
Default

HELP!!! No power to light switch and cant find GFI's on that circuit!


Quote:
Originally Posted by gdawg1b View Post
Both of the black wires that are connected to the switch itself are hot regardless of the toggle position!
How are you determining this?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gdawg1b View Post
The capped black wire, when uncapped and touching the upper empty screws, becomes live and powers the other closet. Strange for sure but that's why I am on here to ask those more knowledgeable!
Why is that wire unhooked and capped. Sounds like something was messed with and we are not getting the whole story

Quote:
Originally Posted by gdawg1b View Post
I will change the switch for sure as someone suggested! Knew the black "burnt" looking area was not good! Thanks for verifying that!
That would be a good idea as anything that is burned like that is not safe. You still need to figure out where that arc came from though
danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 04:01 PM   #30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 0
Default

HELP!!! No power to light switch and cant find GFI's on that circuit!


Quote:
Originally Posted by danpik

How are you determining this?

With a non contact voltage detector from Home Depot!

Why is that wire unhooked and capped. Sounds like something was messed with and we are not getting the whole story

No idea! From the help given here I was snooping in the nearby switch boxes and saw it. Touched it to the known hot wires and the light came on!

That would be a good idea as anything that is burned like that is not safe. You still need to figure out where that arc came from though
. True!

gdawg1b is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.