Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-03-2010, 12:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

Help with new shop wiring


New member here; just joined. I have a problem with the wiring I am roughing in for a new shop I am building. The electrition said he would work with me if I "roughed" in the wiring and had all the connections ready so he could inspect and do the final connections, so I am. I have had long electrical experience but it is very "thin"! The shop is a combination cabinet and gunsmithing shop. It has 200 Amp dedicated service (to be connected). I have a 40 slot main panel. Q: I am planning to run workbenches around the 30'X18' perimeter walls. I would like HD outlete mounted on the front face below the worksurface for easy plug-in. (This is based on experience..). I use a lot of high watt/HP tools (2.5HP router, 3000Watt lead furnace, several 1HP machines, etc.0 and I have all the equipment mounted on wheels as I do a lot of parts making and small-lot manufacturing. I set up the tools I need in a "work center" as I need them grouped. I have run 10Ga. wire to all the plugs with the intention of using each to feed 2 duplex 20Amp outlets each. (8 plugs from the 2 wall mounts.) I may change them to 30Amp twist locks later dedicated to these workbench-mounted outlets. I'm having a heck of a time working with the 10Ga. wire. Are properly-rated spade lugs permissable on the solid 10Ga. Romex?

campchair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 01:04 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,139
Default

Help with new shop wiring


I have put 10 solid onto a plug before, takes a little work to get it to sit on there nice and some more work to get it sitting on the wall nice.

One option would be to pigtail a #12 onto the #10 and take that to your plug. If you upgrade to a 30A twistlock you would have to remove the #12 and put the #10 onto the plug.

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 01:07 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,498
Default

Help with new shop wiring


General purpose receptacle circuits are prohibited from being on circuits greater than 20 amps. You could have run a multiwire branch circuit using 12-3 cable and had two circuits to serve a double gang box. One duplex on each circuit. You will also need to provide GFI protection to the receptacles.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 07:24 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canonsburg, PA (Pittsburgh)
Posts: 432
Default

Help with new shop wiring


The original poster only said he was using #10 and may upgrade to a 30Amp twist locks later. If he uses a 20 amp breaker with his duplex 20Amp outlets he is fine. Also, if it is a long run #10 may be required to reduce voltage drop.

Rege
RegeSullivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 07:44 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Default

Help with new shop wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
One option would be to pigtail a #12 onto the #10 and take that to your plug. If you upgrade to a 30A twistlock you would have to remove the #12 and put the #10 onto the plug.
I just recently did this for a air compressor - I ran #10 wire because I antisipate to upgrade sometime in the future to a larger unit - will change out the breaker and recept at that time without having to rerun the wire.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring air compressor in to shop KAdams4458 Electrical 39 09-07-2009 04:13 AM
Wiring shop need advice stqevo Electrical 14 09-03-2009 12:18 PM
Running Underground wiring to shop 200Ft kola Electrical 5 06-06-2008 09:13 AM
Advice on basement shop wiring WoodworkerDave Electrical 4 04-05-2008 12:12 PM
Wiring New Shop, OK? woodman51jfk Electrical 18 12-16-2007 11:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.